Career Speech Assignment - SPE 103 - Christy Carter - Summer 2024

PHOTO

Your Speech Should Include...

Introduction
Description of the career
Job requirements/skills
Approximate entry-level salary
Schooling required (high school diploma, Associate’s degree, Bachelor’s degree, Master’s degree, Doctorate, medical school, law school, etc.) and a list of schools that offer these degrees

An explanation about why you would like to pursue this career or not as a result of your research
A summary of what you have learned about the career as a result of your research for this speech
Answer what the career will be like on a daily basis
Describe if you are still interested in the job after learning more about it

Occupational Outlook Handbook This link opens in a new window
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides information to people making decisions about their future work lives, including training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions in a variety of occupations.
Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new window
O.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
Statista This link opens in a new window
Business, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.
LearningExpress PrepStep for Colleges This link opens in a new window
Practice tests and computer basics. LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges: Core Math, Science, English, Computer, and College Success Skills; High School Equivalency, Placement, and ACT-SAT; Test Preparation; Career Preparation; Recursos Para Hispanohablantes.
LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Career Preparation This link opens in a new window
Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve your workplace skills. Includes exam preparation resources for Allied Health, Social Work, Civil Service, Emergency Medical Services, Firefighting, Law Enforcement, Nursing, TOEIC®, Teaching, and WorkKeys®.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, and more than 55,000 career resource entries.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new window
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.

career information

Software Developer Registered Nurse Marketing Manager Elementary School Teacher Financial Analyst Graphic Designer Mechanical Engineer Social Worker Chef Human Resources Specialist	Environmental Scientist Physical Therapist Accountant Web Developer Electrician Pharmacist Journalist Event Planner Police Officer Architect	Dental Hygienist Sales Representative Occupational Therapist Interior Designer Veterinarian Airline Pilot Speech-Language Pathologist Fitness Trainer Real Estate Agent Fashion Designer

O*NET OnLine: Offers comprehensive information on hundreds of occupations, including job duties, required skills, and career outlook. (https://www.onetonline.org/)
CareerOneStop: Offers tools and resources for exploring careers, finding training, and conducting job searches. (https://www.careeronestop.org/)
Glassdoor: Provides insights into company reviews, salaries, and interview experiences, helping you learn more about specific employers and industries. (https://www.glassdoor.com/)
LinkedIn: Allows you to explore various careers, connect with professionals in your field of interest, and access job listings. (https://www.linkedin.com/)
Indeed: A popular job search engine that aggregates job listings from various sources, providing a comprehensive overview of available positions. (https://www.indeed.com/)
CareerBuilder: Offers job search functionality, career advice, and resources for exploring different career paths. (https://www.careerbuilder.com/)
Monster: Similar to CareerBuilder, Monster provides job listings, career advice, and resources for job seekers. (https://www.monster.com/)
The Muse: Offers career advice, job search tools, and company profiles to help you explore different career options. (https://www.themuse.com/)
USAJOBS: The official job site for the United States federal government, where you can explore federal job opportunities and learn about the application process. (https://www.usajobs.gov/)

U.S. News & World Report Best Colleges: Link
QS World University Rankings - United States: Link
Forbes America's Top Colleges: Link
The Princeton Review Best Colleges: Link
Niche Best Colleges in America: Link
Wall Street Journal/Times Higher Education College Rankings: Link
College Factual Best Colleges: Link