databases
-
Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
-
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
-
Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new window
Includes college and university news, information, and announcements from September 1989 to present. Does not include access to the Daily Briefing newsletter.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
-
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
-
Flipster This link opens in a new windowAccess a selection of popular and research-oriented digital magazines on your computer or mobile device with Flipster, the digital magazine newsstand from EBSCO.
-
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Art Online provides access to Grove Art Online, Benezit Dictionary of Artists, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms.
-
Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
The experiences and impact of Hispanic Americans as recorded by the news media.
-
History Makers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present.
-
Infobase / Facts on File All Resources This link opens in a new windowLinks to the Infobase / Facts on File databases available at Oakton.
-
Infobase / Facts on File All Resources This link opens in a new windowLinks to the Infobase / Facts on File databases available at Oakton.
-
Libby by OverDrive - NILRC This link opens in a new windowBorrow e-books and audio-books through the NILRC Libby/OverDrive Consortium collection. To download and learn how to use the mobile app, see the Libby app site.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.