Non-Profits
These charities seek to protect the environment through education and conservation initiatives. Charities in these categories may focus on research, direct action, or political and legal advocacy.
|
These organizations step in and provide relief during difficult times such as natural disaster and war. |
|
These charities support youth in a variety of ways, from providing constructive youth activities to advocating for children's rights. |
|
These groups have specific missions geared towards improving education, providing more educational opportunities, promoting cultural awareness, or preserving the culture of specific populations. |
-
Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
-
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
-
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
-
SocINDEX Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
-
The Foundation Review is the first peer-reviewed journal of philanthropy, written by and for foundation staff and boards, and those who work with them implementing programs. It provides rigorous research and writing, presented in an accessible style. -
Journal of Nonprofit & Public Sector Marketing
The Journal of Nonprofit & Public Sector Marketing is a peer reviewed journal devoted to the study of the adaptation of traditional marketing principles for use by nonprofit organizations and government agencies.