It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
Correspondence and Jane Addams' writings starting in 1901 and ending in 1935. The bulk of the documents included here come from the Jane Addams Papers Microfilm Edition, published in 1985 by Mary Lynn Bryan and her team of editors at Duke University.
“…An odd, funny and well-researched site (created by a man), on the history of menstruation as told by women around the world." (Janice Maloney, "Finding Some Warm Havens in the Web's Information Blizzard," Women's Health: A Special Section, The New York Times, 21 June 1998.)
The Museum researches, collects and exhibits the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of our nation in a context of world history. Excellent collection of online exhibits.
Note: This site was taken down in 2018, but the Library of Congress has archived it. The link above directs you to the archived site.
The National Woman’s Party (NWP) collection housed at the Sewall-Belmont House & Museum is an important resource for the study of the suffrage movement and the campaign for the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA).
Selected images from the collections of the Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Reading Room. They include portraits of women who campaigned for women's rights, particularly voting rights, and suffrage campaign scenes, cartoons, and ephemera. An accompanying women's suffrage timeline features many of the images.
Over the past 40 years, Women Employed has made history as a voice for working women. Their vision: All women are treated fairly in the workplace, are able to attain the skills they need for the jobs they want, and are respected for the work they do.
This archived 2011 report pulls together information from across the Federal statistical agencies to compile baseline information on how women are faring in the United States today and how these trends have changed over time.
This database is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States including: working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues.
Evaluating a Website
When using a website for research, it’s important to consider several factors to make sure you’re getting accurate, objective, and current information. Here are some questions to ask yourself as your evaluate websites:
1. Who provided the information on the website and are they qualified to write on that particular topic? Is there a way to contact the author(s)?
2. What organization, institution, or company is responsible for the website? What kind of domain does the website use? Website URLs that end in .edu or .gov are often more reliable and objective than commercial websites ending in .com.
3. What opinions are expressed on the website? Does the website provide objective, factual information or does it seem more like an advertisement for a product or a platform for someone to express a personal opinion?
4. When was the website created? Is there an indication that the information has been kept up-to-date? Do the links still work or do they mostly lead to defunct websites?
5. Are there citations or clearly identified reliable sources for the information presented?