Women's History

CAWP, a unit of the Eagleton Institute of Politics at Rutgers, is nationally recognized as the leading source of scholarly research and current data about American women’s political participation.

Site documents the history of the Chicago Women's Liberation Union, whose primary purpose is to attack sexism and serve women on a local level. Good historical archive of classic texts.

This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Presents online documents and secondary discussions which reflect the various ways of looking at the history of women within broadly defined historical periods and areas.

This Library of Congress site contains digital materials, an introduction to research in American women’s history, tips on searching for women’s history resources in the catalogs, and more.

A core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles were published between 1850 and 1950.

Correspondence and Jane Addams' writings starting in 1901 and ending in 1935. The bulk of the documents included here come from the Jane Addams Papers Microfilm Edition, published in 1985 by Mary Lynn Bryan and her team of editors at Duke University.

“…An odd, funny and well-researched site (created by a man), on the history of menstruation as told by women around the world." (Janice Maloney, "Finding Some Warm Havens in the Web's Information Blizzard," Women's Health: A Special Section, The New York Times, 21 June 1998.)

Largest organization of feminist activities in the United States.

The Museum researches, collects and exhibits the contributions of women to the social, cultural, economic and political life of our nation in a context of world history. Excellent collection of online exhibits.

Note: This site was taken down in 2018, but the Library of Congress has archived it. The link above directs you to the archived site.

The National Woman’s Party (NWP) collection housed at the Sewall-Belmont House & Museum is an important resource for the study of the suffrage movement and the campaign for the Equal Rights Amendment (ERA).

The Voices of Feminism Oral History Project documents the persistence and diversity of organizing for women in the United States in the latter half of the 20th century.

Selected images from the collections of the Library of Congress, Prints & Photographs Reading Room. They include portraits of women who campaigned for women's rights, particularly voting rights, and suffrage campaign scenes, cartoons, and ephemera. An accompanying women's suffrage timeline features many of the images.

Over the past 40 years, Women Employed has made history as a voice for working women. Their vision: All women are treated fairly in the workplace, are able to attain the skills they need for the jobs they want, and are respected for the work they do.

This archived 2011 report pulls together information from across the Federal statistical agencies to compile baseline information on how women are faring in the United States today and how these trends have changed over time.

This database is a digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States including: working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues.