Recommended databases for background information
The American Women's Almanac by Call Number: Ebook, click for accessISBN: 9781578597222Publication Date: 2020From the first indigenous women in North America and the dangers and hardships of the 15th, 16th, and 17th century journeys to the New World to the continual push against patriarchal political, military, corporate, and societal systems and expectations, this essential book illustrates the important events and figures surrounding the suffrage movement; literature, art, and music; business leaders and breakthroughs; political history and office holders; advances in science and medicine; and other vital topics.
- The Multimedia Encyclopedia of Women in Today's WorldOver a thousand entries regarding the myriad realities of what it means to experience life as a female in genuinely global terms: across lines of nationality, class, race and ethnicity, ability, religion, sexual orientation, gender expression, age, politics
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies that document women's activism in American public life.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- American History Online This link opens in a new windowSpans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
- Modern World History Online This link opens in a new windowCovers the people, places, and events in the broad expanse of history-from mid-15th century to the present.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new windowProvides data that relates to the social, behavioral, humanistic, and natural sciences including history, economics, government, finance, sociology, demography, education, law, natural resources, climate, religion, international migration, and trade. Includes over 37,000 data series and statistics from more than 1,000 sources.
Recommended databases for articles
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Gender & Society (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society; focused on the study of gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
Historical Newspapers
- Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersSearch America's historic newspaper pages from 1836-1922 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress.
- Chicago Tribune Historical ProQuest This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text and full-images of the Chicago Tribune in a searchable archive. The archive covers 1849-1999.
- Harper's Weekly This link opens in a new windowOnline version of Harper's Weekly (1857-1912), the leading American illustrated magazine of its day, covering political, military, social, and cultural stories. May be browsed by date or literary genre; the full text is searchable by keywords.
- Hyde Park HeraldOnline archive of The Hyde Park Herald, a searchable history of the Hyde Park neighborhood on Chicago's South Side. Hyde Park is the home of the University of Chicago and of Barack Obama, the 44th President of the United States. This archive includes every known copy of The Hyde Park Herald from 1882 until 2008. We will digitize new additions on a yearly basis.
- Illinois Digital Newspaper CollectionsThis collection contains 45 newspaper titles, 94,803 issues comprising 1,119,781 pages and 7,160,392 articles.The Newspaper Library at the University of Illinois has been developing unique digital newspaper content. The works collected here include digital facsimilies of newspapers and trade journals in a variety of fields. Users may search, browse, tag, and correct OCR text to improve searchability and access.
- NewspaperCat - Catalog of Digital Historical NewspapersNewspaperCat is an online database providing links to over 1000 full-text digital newspapers in the United States and Caribbean.