It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Animal rights movement opposes any use of animals that causes suffering or death. Animal welfare movement tends to accept the need to raise animals for food and to use them in some research as long as they receive proper care and do not suffer.
Provides search access to over 7 million books in over 85 Illinois academic and research member libraries.
Animal Rights by Greenhaven Press Staff (Editor); Noah BerlatskyCurrent Controversies: Animal Rights examines whether scientific testing violates animal rights, including whether it is cruel, the necessity of testing on primates, and the use of technology. It covers factory farming, and whether it violates animal righ; The Current Controversies series examines today's most important social and political issues; each volume presents a diverse selection of primary and secondary sources representing all sides of the debate in question.; Each anthology is composed of a wide spectrum of sources written by many of the foremost authorities in their respective fields. This unique approach provides students with a concise view of divergent opinions on each topic.
Call Number: HV4708 .A5427 2015 (RHC)
Publication Date: 2015
Bleating Hearts by Mark HawthorneComprehensive and hard-hitting, Bleating Hearts examines the world's vast exploitation of animals, from the food, fashion, and research industries to the use of other species for sport, war, entertainment, religion, labor and pleasure.
Call Number: HV4708 .H38 2013 (DPC)
Publication Date: 2013
The Modern Savage by James McWilliamsJust Food author James McWilliams's exploration of the "compassionate carnivore" movement and the paradox of humanity's relationship with animals. In the last four decades, food reformers have revealed the ecological and ethical problems of eating animals raised in industrial settings, turning what was once the boutique concern of radical eco-freaks into a mainstream movement. Although animal products are often labeled "cage free," "free range," and "humanely raised," can we trust these goods to be safe, sound, or ethical? InThe Modern Savage, renowned writer, historian, and animal advocate James McWilliams pushes back against the questionable moral standards of a largely omnivorous world and explores the "alternative to the alternative"—not eating domesticated animals at all. In poignant, powerful, and persuasive prose, McWilliams reveals the scope of the cruelty that takes place even on the smallest and—supposedly—most humane animal farms. In a world increasingly aware of animals' intelligence and the range of their emotions, McWilliams advocates for the only truly moral, sustainable choice—a diet without meat, dairy, or other animal products. McWilliams'sThe Modern Savageis a riveting expose of an industry that has typically hidden behind a veil of morality, and a compelling account of how to live a more economical, environmental, and ethical life.
Call Number: HV4757 .M39 2015 (DPC)
Publication Date: 2016
The Moral Lives of Animals by Dale PetersonWild elephants walking along a trail stop and spontaneously try to protect and assist a weak and dying fellow elephant. Laboratory rats, finding other rats caged nearby in distressing circumstances, proceed to rescue them. A chimpanzee in a zoo loses his own life trying to save an unrelated infant who has fallen into a watery moat. The examples above and many others, argues Dale Peterson, show that our fellow creatures have powerful impulses toward cooperation, generosity, and fairness. Yet it is commonly held that we Homo sapiens are the only animals with a moral sense. This rigorous and stimulating book challenges that notion and shows the profound connections--the moral continuum--that link humans to many other species. Understanding the moral lives of animals offers new insight into our own.
Call Number: QL785 .P375 2012 (RHC)
Publication Date: 2012
Beyond Words by Carl SafinaI wanted to know what they were experiencing, and why to us they feel so compelling, and so-close. This time I allowed myself to ask them the question that for a scientist was forbidden fruit: Who are you? Weaving decades of field observations with exciting new discoveries about the brain, Carl Safina's landmark book offers an intimate view of animal behavior to challenge the fixed boundary between humans and nonhuman animals. InBeyond Words, readers travel to Amboseli National Park in the threatened landscape of Kenya and witness struggling elephant families work out how to survive poaching and drought, then to Yellowstone National Park to observe wolves sort out the aftermath of one pack's personal tragedy, and finally plunge into the astonishingly peaceful society of killer whales living in the crystalline waters of the Pacific Northwest. Beyond Words brings forth powerful and illuminating insight into the unique personalities of animals through extraordinary stories of animal joy, grief, jealousy, anger, and love. The similarity between human and nonhuman consciousness, self-awareness, and empathy calls us to re-evaluate how we interact with animals. Wise, passionate, and eye-opening at every turn,Beyond Words is ultimately a graceful examination of humanity's place in the world.
Call Number: QL785 .S14 2015 (DPC)
Publication Date: 2015
Factory Farming by Greenhaven Press Editors (Editor); Debra A. MillerThe Current Controversies series examines today's most important social and political issues; each volume presents a diverse selection of primary and secondary sources representing all sides of the debate in question.; This title debates various facets of factory farming including, the necessity of large scale farming; the ethics of factory farming; the impact of factory farming on human health and the environment; and the future of factory farming.; Each anthology is composed of a wide spectrum of sources written by many of the foremost authorities in their respective fields. This unique approach provides students with a concise view of divergent opinions on each topic. Extensive book and periodical
Each issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Search for full-text journal articles online from January 1997 to the present. Science is a peer-reviewed general-science journal published by the American Association of Science (AAAS) that serves as a leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research.
Basic introduction to over 75,000 different topics, including encyclopedia articles, maps, news, definitions, and statistics. Includes a dictionary/thesaurus, media (photographs & selected audio/video files), famous quotations, country profiles, selected websites, and news articles.