It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
When using a website for research, it’s important to consider several factors to make sure you’re getting accurate, objective, and current information. Here are some questions to ask yourself as your evaluate websites:
1. Who provided the information on the website and are they qualified to write on that particular topic? Is there a way to contact the author(s)?
2. What organization, institution, or company is responsible for the website? What kind of domain does the website use? Website URLs that end in .edu or .gov are often more reliable and objective than commercial websites ending in .com.
3. What opinions are expressed on the website? Does the website provide objective, factual information or does it seem more like an advertisement for a product or a platform for someone to express a personal opinion?
4. When was the website created? Is there an indication that the information has been kept up-to-date? Do the links still work or do they mostly lead to defunct websites?
5. Are there citations or clearly identified reliable sources for the information presented?
Search by era, movement, or geography and listen to "The Art History Babes" discuss a specific aspect of Art History. They describe their work as " Four grad students drink wine and discuss all things visual culture."
According to their website, "Bad At Sports is a weekly podcast about contemporary art. Founded in 2005, the series focuses on presenting the practices of artists, curators, critics, dealers, various other arts professionals through an online audio format."
This audio series offers entertaining, informative discussions about the arts and events at the National Gallery of Art. These podcasts give access to special Gallery talks by well-known artists, authors, curators, and historians.
The arts of the African continent combine beauty of form with rich cultural significance that can be appreciated by visitors of all ages. These brilliantly created objects express fundamental cultural beliefs and provide powerful statements about the artists and societies who create them. The UI Stanley Museum of Art holds one of the country's finest and most well-respected collections of African art, which is supplemented in the gallery by vivid textual and video displays. The African collection presents a well-rounded view of the artistic diversity found throughout the continent. In addition to world-renowned pieces from cultures in West and Central Africa, visitors will find works from all regions of the African continent in a wide range of media including figural sculpture, textiles, masks, ceramics, beadwork, and metalwork.
Explore thousands of artworks in the museum’s wide-ranging collection—from our world-renowned icons to lesser-known gems from every corner of the globe—as well as books, writings, reference materials, and other resources.
The J. Paul Getty Museum, a program of the J. Paul Getty Trust, is an art museum with two locations in California, with collections that include European paintings, drawings, sculpture, illuminated manuscripts, decorative arts, European and American photographs, and Greek, Roman, and Etruscan antiquities.
Formerly a royal palace, the Louvre has embraced the history of France for eight centuries. Intended as a universal museum since its inception in 1793, its collections—among the finest in the world—span several thousands of years and a territory that extends from America to the confines of Asia. Divided among eight departments, these collections feature works admired throughout the globe, including the Mona Lisa, the Winged Victory of Samothrace, and the Venus de Milo. With nearly ten million visitors in 2012, the Louvre is the world’s most visited museum.
A chronological, geographical, and thematic exploration of the history of art from around the world, as illustrated by the Museum's collection. The Museum's curators, conservators, and educators research and write the Timeline, so it continues to expand in scope and depth and reflects the most up-to-date scholarship.
The revitalization of the Asian Art at Princeton online educational site reflects the Princeton University Art Museum’s deep commitment to open access and sustainable technology development. This site represents the inauguration of new data and image services, built on the International Image Interoperability Framework and a core collections information API.
The Smithsonian Institution is an educational and research institute and associated museum complex, administered and funded by the government of the United States and by funds from its endowment, contributions, and other operations. The searchable database has over 2 million records with 275,200 images, video and sound files, electronic journals and other resources from the Smithsonian's museums, archives & libraries.
The Studio Museum in Harlem’s permanent collection represents more than 600 artists, spans 200 years of history and includes over 2,500 works of art, including paintings, drawings, sculptures, watercolors, photographs, videos and mixed-media installations. The collection is a record of the growth of the institution and its activities, including its foundational Artist-in-Residence program. Throughout the Museum’s history we have proudly shown the collection and have been honored to loan works around the country and the world.