Genocide

Includes "videos relating to the 1994 Genocide against the Tutsi enriched with synchronized transcripts, searchable index terms, and maps."

Founded in January 1998, the Genocide Studies Program at Yale University conducts research, seminars and conferences on comparative, interdisciplinary, and policy issues relating to the phenomenon of genocide. The GSP also maintains research projects on those catastrophes, on the Nazi Holocaust, the genocides in Bosnia and Darfur, and on colonial and indigenous genocides. This program also houses the Cambodian Genocide Databases (CGDB), which contains information pertaining the the massive violations of human rights in Cambodia during the Khmer Rouge regime of 1975 to 1979.

Genocide Watch is the Coordinating organization of The International Campaign to End Genocide (ICEG), an international coalition of organizations. The ICEG aims to educate the general public and policy makers about the causes, processes, and warning signs of genocide; to create the institutions and political will to prevent and stop genocide; and to bring perpetrators of genocide to justice.

Ranks and compares countries on a wide variety of statistics; lets you build custom tables comparing a wide variety of statistics between countries.

Part of the United Nations, The Office of the Special Adviser on the Prevention of Genocide "acts as a catalyst to raise awareness of the causes and dynamics of genocide, to alert relevant actors where there is a risk of genocide, and to advocate and mobilize for appropriate action."

Prevent Genocide International, established in 1998, is a global education and action network for the prevention of genocide and crimes against humanity.

The USHMM is a living memorial to the Holocaust, the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum inspires citizens and leaders worldwide to confront hatred, promote human dignity, and prevent genocide.

The International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda was established for the prosecution of persons responsible for genocide and other serious violations of international humanitarian law committed in the territory of Rwanda between 1 January 1994 and 31 December 1994. It may also deal with the prosecution of Rwandan citizens responsible for genocide and other such violations of international law committed in the territory of neighbouring States during the same period.

In May 1993, the Tribunal was established by the United Nations in response to mass atrocities then taking place in Croatia and Bosnia and Herzegovina. Reports depicting horrendous crimes, in which thousands of civilians were being killed and wounded, tortured and sexually abused in detention camps and hundreds of thousands expelled from their homes, caused outrage across the world and spurred the UN Security Council to act.

This database is the online version of the Study on customary international humanitarian law, conducted by the International Committee of the Red Cross (ICRC) and published by Cambridge University Press in 2005.

Netherlands Institute of Human Rights offers a searchable database of International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia (ICT and International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda (ICTR) materials.

The Avalon Project includes documents from the Nuremberg Trials Collection.