2024 Presidential Election Misinformation
The News Literacy Project has created a flip book with stories about misinformation about the Presidential election. They will add news stories from a variety of sources in the coming weeks.
Check back often to stay up to date on this topic.
Fact or Fiction Quiz
Test your knowledge by taking a short quiz from the Pew Research Center. When you finish, you will be able to compare your answers with average Americans and compare responses across demographic groups.
Get help from Oakton's Librarians!
| Email us | ||
|
Call us: |
||
| Text us: 847-906-2746 |
||
|
Social Media |
What is on my Ballot?
- Your Voter Information - Cook County ClerkYour Voter Information is a tool that provides key information unique to your voting address or you. The tool can provide you with details about your polling place, ballot, elected officials and more.
Click the Cook County Clerk's Your Voter Information link and enter your address.
You will be able to
- Check your voter registration status
- Find your polling places and where you can vote
- See what's on the ballot for your district or town
Sample Ballots for 2024 Elections
Find the ballot for your district.
Enter your last name and address to access the list of candidates and any referenda on your ballot.
League of Women Voters VOTE411
- Illinois Primary Candidate Voter Guide - 2024Find the candidates on your ballot.
Easily see policy statements and ratings for all offices and judges. - VOTE411VOTE411.org is a "one-stop-shop" from the League of Women Voters for election related information. It provides nonpartisan information to the public with both general and state-specific information.
Follow the 5 steps from registering to vote to casting your ballot.
Fact Checking Websites
- FactCheckMonitors the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases.
- PolitiFact Truth-O-MeterPolitiFact is a project of the Tampa Bay Times to help you find the truth in American politics. Reporters and editors from the Times fact-check statements by members of Congress, the White House, lobbyists and interest groups and rate them on our Truth-O-Meter
- Open SecretsOpenSecrets tracks money in U.S. politics and its effect on elections and public policy. Open Secrets' mission is to track the flow of money in American politics and provide the data and analysis.
- Federal Election Commission (FEC) Filings on Campaign DonationsSee how candidates and committees raise and spend money in federal elections. This financial data helps voters make informed decisions.
Election RoboCalls Banned
" The Federal Communications Commission on Thursday outlawed robocalls that contain voices generated by artificial intelligence, a decision that sends a clear message that exploiting the technology to scam people and mislead voters won’t be tolerated."
Swenson, Ali. (2024, Feb. 8). AI-generated voices in robocalls can deceive voters. The FCC just made them illegal. Associated Press, https://apnews.com/
Use the link below to read the complete story.
Find Articles About Chicago, Cook County and Illinois Election Issues in the Oakton Library Newspaper Databases
- Chicago Sun-Times NewsBank This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text daily Chicago Sun-Times articles from 1985 to the present.
- Chicago Tribune ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text daily Chicago Tribune articles from 1985 to the present.
- Daily Herald NewsBank This link opens in a new windowProvides full-text daily and searchable archived newspapers in Illinois covering North West Cook County, DuPage, Lake, McHenry and Kane Counties and Fox Valley from January 1995 to the present.
- Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
Find Articles About Political Issues in the Oakton Library Article Databases
To use the Oakton Library article databases from off campus,
just use your myOakton user name and password when asked to log in.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.