LibGuides: Engineering &amp; Physics: Databases for Research

Recommended Engineering Databases

Below is a list of resources to help with research for physics and engineering classes at Oakton.

Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.
You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases.
Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.
Note: All of the bolded titles are hyperlinks and launch the website in a new tab.

Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new window
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, and a wide range of subject-specific titles.
At the bottom of this page, there is a video to help navigate this useful database.
Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.

arXiv.org
arXiv is a free distribution service and an open-access archive for 1,804,183 scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics. Materials on this site are not peer-reviewed by arXiv.

Britannica Academic This link opens in a new window
Basic introduction to over 75,000 different topics, including encyclopedia articles, maps, news, definitions, and statistics. Includes a dictionary/thesaurus, media (photographs & selected audio/video files), famous quotations, country profiles, selected websites, and news articles.
ERIC Education Resources EBSCO This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations & theses, and books.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
Gale Encyclopedia of Science This link opens in a new window
Covers all major areas of science, engineering, technology, as well as mathematics and the medical and health sciences, while providing a comprehensive overview of current scientific knowledge and technology. Entries typically describe scientific concepts, provide overviews of scientific areas and, in some cases, define terms.

Google Scholar
Google scholar is a great place to find articles, but the narrowing options are more limited. Remember, do not pay for articles you find on Google Scholar; the library can get you those articles for free.

LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Core Math and Science Skills This link opens in a new window
Build your skills in these essential subject areas: Developmental Math, Algebra, Geometry, Introductory Statistics & Probability, Pre-Calculus & Calculus, and Science.
Salem Press eBooks This link opens in a new window
Online access to selected Salem Press titles in history, forensic science, and careers.
Physics Teacher, The This link opens in a new window
The Physics Teacher publishes peer-reviewed papers on the teaching of introductory physics and on topics such as contemporary physics, applied physics, and the history of physics. It provides peer-reviewed content and materials to be used in classrooms and instructional laboratories.

zbMath
An open access database with reviews and abstracts in pure and applied mathematics.

Length: 2:48. Hit play and then watch full screen.