LibGuides: Human Trafficking: Finding Articles

Suggested Search Terms

Human trafficking
Prostitution
Human Trafficking -- law & legislation
Human trafficking victims
Slavery
Exploitation of humans
Forced labor
Child trafficking
Slave trade

Human Trafficking in the News

Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
Newspaper Source Plus EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 national and international newspapers - including Star Tribune, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (U.K.), Toronto Star, Bangkok Post, The Jordan Times, and many more - in a searchable archive.
New York Times in Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Use this link to confine your Nexis Uni search to the New York Times.
Once connected, select the "Continue" button.

Explore other options for finding newspaper articles.

Recommended Databases for Articles

Find articles in scholarly or popular publications using Oakton databases such as the ones linked below. A complete list of Oakton databases is available in the A-Z Database List.

If you are searching off campus, use your Oakton username and password to log into the databases.

Help Guides are available for many Oakton library databases.

Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Nexis Uni - Legal This link opens in a new window
Provides access to primary source material such as case law, statutes, and regulations as well as secondary source materials such as legal news or law reviews for background or analysis of a legal topic. NOTE: If you get a security message blocking your access, call Oakton Library Reference 847.635.1644
PsycArticles EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 163,000 articles from nearly 80 journals published by the American Psychological Association & allied organizations.
Social Problems -- Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Social Problems presents scholarly articles offering critical perspectives on contemporary social issues as well as influential sociological findings and theories that have the ability to help us better understand and deal with our complex social environment.