LibGuides: Human Services: Resources

Career Exploration & Preparation

LearningExpress PrepStep for Colleges
Practice tests and computer basics. LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges: Core Math, Science, English, Computer, and College Success Skills; High School Equivalency, Placement, and ACT-SAT; Test Preparation; Career Preparation; Recursos Para Hispanohablantes.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, and more than 55,000 career resource entries.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook provides information to people making decisions about their future work lives, including training and education needed, earnings, expected job prospects, what workers do on the job, and working conditions in a variety of occupations.

NOHS
The National Organization for Human Services (NOHS) is a nonprofit organization representing Human Service practitioners, educators, students and future Human Service Professionals. NOHS works to support all Human Service Professionals in our primary purpose to assist individuals and communities to function as effectively as possible in all major domains of living.
NHSA
The National Human Services Assembly (National Assembly) is a leading voice in the human service sector and promotes collaboration among engaged organizations to advance the collective power, knowledge, strategy, and systems that build well-being within individuals and our communities.
NASW
Founded in 1955, the National Association of Social Workers (NASW) is the largest membership organization of professional social workers in the world. NASW works to enhance the professional growth and development of its members, to create and maintain professional standards, and to advance sound social policies.

O.W.L.
O.W.L. is your Oakton Library catalog and discovery service for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.

Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO

Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
CQ Researcher

Each issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Social Problems - Oxford Journals

Social Problems presents scholarly articles offering critical perspectives on contemporary social issues as well as influential sociological findings and theories that have the ability to help us better understand and deal with our complex social environment.
SocINDEX Full Text - EBSCO

Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.