Skip to Main Content

Paralegal Studies

Illinois Constitution

Illinois’ sixth Constitutional Convention convened in Springfield on Dec. 8, 1969. Tne hundred and sixteen members — two elected from each Senatorial District — met at a nonpartisan convention to revise, alter or amend the 1870 Constitution.

After nine months of in-depth study and debate, the members presented their work-product to the people — a Constitution they considered to be workable for 25, 50— or as in the case of the 1870 Constitution — 100 years.

The Constitution was adopted in convention, Sept. 3, 1970; ratified by the people, Dec. 15, 1970; and became effective July 1, 1971. Since its adoption, 10 amendments have been approved and adopted.

Download a copy of the Illinois Constitution.

Illinois Government News Network: Governor's Office News

Loading ...

The Capital Fax Blog

Loading ...

General Information and Offices

Click on the icon for more information.

Illinois in the Guilded Age

"This video concerning the topic of Law and Society, comes from the "Illinois in the Gilded Age, 1866-1896" website, which is a creation of Northern Illinois University Libraries' Digital Initiatives Unit.