Video: What is History For? (4:13)
Suggested Databases for Background Information
- Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
- American Decades 1900 through 1999 - GVRL This link opens in a new windowCross-disciplinary source for documenting and analyzing periods of contemporary American social history (1900-1999).
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. - CQ Historic Documents 1972 to Present This link opens in a new windowEach annual volume includes approximately 100 documents covering the most significant events of the years 1972 - present. These documents range from presidential speeches, international agreements, and Supreme Court decisions to U.S. governmental reports, scientific findings, and cultural discussions.
- CQ Press Encyclopedia of US Political History This link opens in a new windowTrace themes over time or delve deeply into American political institutions, culture, and behavior during seven time periods that correspond to key eras in United States history.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowPrimary documents, web sites, and maps. Material is compiled by Oxford University Press from their many reference works, such as Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, various Oxford Companions, and the forthcoming African American National Biography.
- Infobase / Facts on File All Resources This link opens in a new windowLinks to the Infobase / Facts on File databases available at Oakton.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBusiness, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.