- Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
Suggested Books at Oakton College Library
History of the World Map by Map by
Explore the history of the world in unprecedented detail with this ultimate guide to history throughout the ages. Maps don't just show us where to go, but also where we've been. If you're interested in finding out more about the biggest events in world history, then this book all about history of the world is perfect for you! This stunning history book for adults starts with the evolution and migration of our oldest ancestors out of Africa. You can then look up maps about the Greece and Persian War, the Mongol Conquests, Medieval Europe's trade routes, and the rise of the Ottomans. Explore maps about the colonisation of North America, the scientific revolution, Napoleon's advances, and Britain's control of India. Then uncover the history of later centuries, such as the Age of Imperialism, the American Civil War, industrialised Europe and the transformation of Japan. Journey into past like never before as you uncover: - Easy-to-read text panels for a deeper understanding of history - A total of 140 maps alongside stunning pictures and informative timelines - Storytelling maps to bring history to life - Published in association with the Smithsonian Institution in the USA. Bursting with striking illustrations and full of fascinating detail, this history book is the ultimate gift for map lovers, history enthusiasts of all ages and those who enjoy visiting museums and other historical sites, whether as a present for dad, or handy reference guide for any other history lover in your life! History of the World Map by Map aims to help you gain a strong understanding of some of the forces and movements across continents that have shaped our world! Go on guided tour through time and explore: - Prehistory 7 MYA-3000 BCE - The Ancient World 3000 BCE - 500 CE - Middle Ages 500-1450 CE - The Early Modern World 1450-1700 - Revolution and Industry 1700-1850 - Progress and Empire 1850-1914 - The Modern World 1914-Present At DK, we believe in the power of discovery. So why stop there? The Map by Map series includes other titles such as History of the World Map by Map and World War II Map by Map, each detailing historical events and placing them in the context of geography. DK's luxurious Map by Map books are fantastic history gifts, packed with fascinating facts, high-quality photography, and detailed profiles and descriptions of people and events.
Call Number: OVERSZ G141 .H58 2018 (Des Plaines)ISBN: 9781465475855Publication Date: 2018
A Concise History of the World by
This book tells the story of humankind as producers and reproducers from the Paleolithic to the present. Renowned social and cultural historian Merry Wiesner-Hanks brings a new perspective to world history by examining social and cultural developments across the globe, including families and kin groups, social and gender hierarchies, sexuality, race and ethnicity, labor, religion, consumption, and material culture. She examines how these structures and activities changed over time through local processes and interactions with other cultures, highlighting key developments that defined particular eras such as the growth of cities or the creation of a global trading network. Incorporating foragers, farmers and factory workers along with shamans, scribes and secretaries, the book widens and lengthens human history. It makes comparisons and generalizations, but also notes diversities and particularities, as it examines the social and cultural matters that are at the heart of big questions in world history today.
Call Number: D 21 .W64 2015 (Des Plaines)ISBN: 9781107028371Publication Date: 2015
A History of the Modern Middle East by
A History of the Modern Middle East examines the profound and often dramatic transformations of the region in the past two centuries, from the Ottoman and Egyptian reforms, through the challenge of Western imperialism, to the impact of US foreign policies. Built around a framework of political history, while also carefully integrating social, cultural, and economic developments, this expertly crafted account provides readers with the most comprehensive, balanced and penetrating analysis of the modern Middle East. The sixth edition has been revised to provide a thorough account of the major developments since 2012, including the tumultuous aftermath of the Arab uprisings, the sectarian conflict in Iraq and civil war in Syria that led to the rise of ISIS, the crises in Libya and Yemen, and the United States' nuclear talks with Iran. With brand-new timelines in each part, updated select bibliographies, and expanded online instructor resources,A History of the Modern Middle East remains the quintessential text for courses on Middle East history.
Call Number: DS 62.4 .C53 2016 (Des Plaines)ISBN: 9780813349800Publication Date: 2016
The History of Mexico by
This sweeping introduction unveils the fascinating, complex, and evolving history of Mexico--from its earliest settlement to the first decade of the 21st century. The History of Mexico: Second Edition provides a timely introduction to the United States' complex and fascinating neighbor, tracing Mexico's history from the arrival of the first humans through the first decade of the 21st century. This second edition provides an important update on Mexico since the historic 2000 presidential election. The History of Mexico is an authoritative examination of the diverse factors that have shaped the nation's experience. Coverage includes the Aztec Empire, the largest empire in MesoAmerica before the Spanish arrival; the period of Spanish dominance starting in the early 16th century; and Mexico's history as an independent nation since 1821. With this broad analysis in hand, students will be well prepared to discuss and evaluate the largest Spanish-speaking country in the world.
Call Number: F 1226 .K57 2010 (Des Plaines)ISBN: 9780313366017Publication Date: 2009
South Asia in World History by
Few regions have shaped the world's history as deeply as South Asia. The birthplace of three of the world's major religions-Hinduism, Buddhism, and Sikhism-the Indian subcontinent has made indelible contributions to the world, from foods such as curry and granulated sugar to the performance of meditation and yoga, from the architectural magnificence of the Taj Mahal to the binary system of numbers. In this accessible book, Marc Jason Gilbert takes us on a journey through South Asia's fascinating history, starting with the blossoming of the Harappan civilization in the fertile Indus valley more than four thousand years ago. Following the routes of the cotton, tea, and opium trade that connected the West and the East throughout history, Gilbert describes South Asia's classical Hindu and Buddhist empires, the coming of Islam to South Asia, the local impact of the Mongol invasions, the splendors of the Mughal Empire, the expansion of British colonial dominion, and the development of South Asian modern nations-Nepal, Pakistan, Bhutan, Bangladesh, India, the Maldives, and Myanmar-in the twentieth century. The book concludes with a timely reflection on the contradictory face of contemporary South Asia. Although the region has produced some of the world's most iconic leaders of non-violent protest-Mahatma Gandhi, Arundhati Roy, Mother Teresa, and Aung San Suu Kyi-severe social divisions and injustice persist in most South Asian countries. Simultaneously, extraordinary economic growth is deeply transforming South Asian societies and may enable them to rival the United States and China as the world's largest economies. Gilbert's transnational perspective illuminates how world historical processes-from changes in the environment and the economy to the movement of peoples and ideas-have shaped and continue to shape the history of South Asia and its place in the wider world.
Call Number: DS 340 .G525 2017 (RHC)ISBN: 9780199760343Publication Date: 2017
A History of Latin America by Call Number: F1408.3 .K443 (DPC)ISBN: 9780618783182Publication Date: 2008
A Short History of South-East Asia by Call Number: DS525 .F63 2006 (RHC)ISBN: 0470821817Publication Date: 2005
A Short History of the United States by
"In 2008, Americans face war, terrorism, recession and the rising economies of China and India. Yet the author avers there is still reason to hope for good leadership. Astute assessments of an evolving nation and ideal reading for November voters." -- Kirkus Reviews A much-needed, concise history of the United States of America by National Book Award winner Robert V. Remini. This accessible and lively volume contains the essential facts about the discovery, settlement, growth, and development of the American nation. Beginning with the earliest travelers to landing the Americas, A SHORT HISTORY OF THE UNITED STATES is a kind of highlight reel of U.S. history, including the migration of Native Americans, the founding of a republic under the Constitution, the emergence of the United States as a world power, the outbreak of terrorism here and abroad, all the way through the last years of George W. Bush's presidency--the perfect read for those who are searching for an abbreviated version of our nation's history, what shaped it, changed it, and what may be to come.
Call Number: F178 .R38 2009 (RHC)ISBN: 9780060831455Publication Date: 2009
The American Promise, Volume I: To 1877 by
The American Promise appeals to all types of students and provides the right resources and tools to support any classroom environment. A clear political framework supports a vibrant social and cultural story that embraces the voices of hundreds of Americans -- from presidents to pipefitters and sharecroppers to suffragettes -- who help students connect with history and grasp important concepts. Now in its fifth edition, The American Promise does even more to increase historical analysis skills and facilitate active learning, and its robust array of multimedia supplements make it the perfect choice for traditional face-to-face classrooms, hybrid courses, and distance learning.
Call Number: E 178.1 .A49367 2012 (Both campuses)ISBN: 9780312663131Publication Date: 2012
Very Short Introductions : American History by
In a miracle of concision, Paul S. Boyer provides a wide-ranging and authoritative history of America, capturing in a compact space the full story of our nation. Ranging from the earliest Native American settlers to the presidency of Barack Obama, this Very Short Introduction offers an illuminating account of politics, diplomacy, and war as well as the full spectrum of social, cultural, and scientific developments that shaped our country.Here is a masterful picture of America's achievements and failures, large-scale socio-historical forces, and pivotal events. Boyer sheds light on the colonial era, the Revolution and the birth of the new nation; slavery and the Civil War; Reconstruction and the Gilded Age; the Progressive era, the Roaring Twenties and the Great Depression; the two world wars and the Cold War that followed; right up to the tragedy of 9/11, the wars in Iraq and Afghanistan, and the epoch-making election of Barack Obama. Certain broad trends shape much of the narrative--immigration, urbanization, slavery, continental expansion, the global projection of U.S. power, the centrality of religion, the progression from an agrarian to an industrial to a post-industrial economic order. Yet in underscoring such large themes, Boyer also highlights the diversity of the American experience, the importance of individual actors, and the crucial role of race, ethnicity, gender, and social class in shaping the contours of specific groups within the nation's larger tapestry. And along the way, he touches upon the cultural milestones of American history, from Tom Paine's The Crisis to Allen Ginsberg's Howl.American History: A Very Short Introduction is a panoramic history of the United States, one that covers virtually every topic of importance--and yet can be read in a single day.
Call Number: E 178 .B782 2012 (RHC)ISBN: 9780199908547Publication Date: 2012
Ages of American Capitalism by Call Number: HC103 .L38 2021ISBN: 9780812985184Publication Date: 2022
The Burning of the World by Call Number: F548.42 .B474 2023ISBN: 9780804197847Publication Date: 2023
