Decolonizing the Curriculum
- How to teach Native American history: The vexing question of righting history's wrongs.By Richard Meyers, an Oglala Sioux (Lakota) tribal member living among his tiyóšpaye (extended family) in Wanblee, South Dakota and Director of Graduate Studies at Oglala Lakota College.
- Decolonizing the Classroom through Indigenous EducationThe Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) "To be a part of a decolonizing process, this education should shift from teaching about Indigenous Peoples and knowledge to teaching with Indigenous Peoples and within Indigenous worldviews."
Get help from Oakton's Librarians!
| Email us | ||
|
Call us: |
||
| Text us: 847-906-2746 |
||
|
Social Media |
Featured Books
Seeing Red: Indigenous land, American expansion, and the political economy of plunder in North America by Call Number: RHC. E99.A35 W57 2022 (Skokie Campus)ISBN: 9781469664842Publication Date: 2022-02-22
Peyakow : reclaiming Cree dignity by Call Number: E99.C88 M348 2021 (DP)ISBN: 9781771622318Publication Date: 2021
Indigenous Continent: the epic contest for North America by Call Number: E77 .H197 2022 (DP)ISBN: 9781631496998Publication Date: 2022-09-20
Background Information
- World Geography & Culture This link opens in a new window
Provides country geography and physical features, government, people, and society facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more.
Treaties with American Indians by Call Number: ebook, click to access (requires Oakton login)ISBN: 9781576078808Publication Date: 2007-12-12This online reference book reveals the contentious history of Native American treaties.
Encyclopedia of the American Indian in the Twentieth Century by ISBN: 9780816035137Publication Date: 2012-05-01In an easily accessible A-to-Z format, Encyclopedia of the American Indian in the Twentieth Century contains a comprehensive range of entries-from biographies to concise analyses of major events, organizations, and important topics
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Research Databases
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text database that covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of many ethnic populations in North America
- American History Online This link opens in a new windowSpans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
Select Journals
- American Indian Quarterly
The common thread is AIQ’s commitment to publishing work that contributes to the development of American Indian studies as a field and to the sovereignty and continuance of American Indian nations and cultures. In addition to peer-reviewed articles, AIQ features reviews of books, films, and exhibits. - Cultural survival quarterly
Cultural Survival Quarterly was founded as a society newsletter. Over the last 40-plus years, it has become an authoritative resource on important issues that affect indigenous and ethnic minority communities around the world. - First peoples child & family review
The First Peoples Child & Family Review is an open-access, interdisciplinary, and peer-reviewed journal honouring the voices and perspectives of First peoples and non-Indigenous allies and supporters. - Indigenous Peoples' Journal of Law, Culture, and Resistance
"We promote Native scholarship, both student and faculty, and support Native scholars and voices. We partner with Native communities to publish writings that will bring attention to their specific situations and legal battles. " - Native Studies Review
The Native Studies Review began publication in 1984 as a refereed bi-annual journal by the Department of Indigenous Studies of the University of Saskatchewan. The journal’s mandate is to feature original scholarly research on Aboriginal perspectives and issues in contemporary and historical contexts.