Article databases
Good to know . . .
Although library databases can look quite different from one another, most have these types of features:
- Search filters that allow you to limit/narrow your search (date, format, subject matter, etc.)
- Citation generators
- Article abstracts (summaries) and/or full-text of articles
- Options for printing, saving, and sharing articles
Subject-focused
-
SocINDEX Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
-
ERIC Education Resources - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations & theses, and books.
-
Ethnic Diversity Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Full-text database that covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of many ethnic populations in North America
-
Gender & Society - SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society; focused on the study of gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
-
Social Problems - Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Social Problems presents scholarly articles offering critical perspectives on contemporary social issues as well as influential sociological findings and theories that have the ability to help us better understand and deal with our complex social environment.
Multi-disciplinary
-
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text multi-disciplinary database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Some subject areas include art, business, economics, history, humanities, language and literature, law, medicine, allied health, science, and social sciences.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.