Welcome to the Anatomy & Physiology Guide
Are you looking for help with Anatomy & Physiology assignments?
This guide will link you to books, journal articles, library databases, and other useful resources.
Image By Patrick J. Lynch, medical illustrator (Patrick J. Lynch, medical illustrator) [CC-BY-2.5 (www.creativecommons.org/licenses/by/2.5)], via Wikimedia Commons
Recommended databases for background information
Begin your research by looking up your keywords in an online dictionary, encyclopedia or reference book.
(Use your myOakton user name and password for off campus access to library databases.)
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Facts on File Science - Human Body Study Modules11 online modules for the study of the human body and systems
- Science Online This link opens in a new windowPresents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.
- Gale Medical Reference This link opens in a new windowCross-searchable collection of several health science titles, including The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Health and Wellness, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. To limit a search to an individual title, use the "More" icon and then the "Title List" option.
Recommended books for background information
Reference books must be used in the library so they are always available.
Gray's Anatomy by Call Number: REF. QM23.2 .G73 2016 (DPC & RHC)ISBN: 9780702052309Publication Date: 2015After more than 150 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice.
Each chapter has been edited by experts in their field, ensuring access to the very latest evidence-based information on that topic.
Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy by Call Number: REF. QM25 .A796 2013 (DPC & RHC)ISBN: 9780323077798Publication Date: 2012There are copies of this book at both the Des Plaines and Skokie (RHC) campus libraries.
The Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy uses over 500 incredibly well-executed and superb dissection photos and illustrations to guide you through all the key structures you'll need to learn in your gross anatomy course.
Grant's Atlas of Anatomy by Call Number: REF. QM25 .A38 2009 (DPC)ISBN: 9780781796040Publication Date: 2009Available in the 2nd floor Reference collection for use in the library at Des Plaines.
Trail Guide to the Body: How to Locate Muscles, Bones and More by Call Number: REF. QM23.2 .B53 2005 (DPC & RHC)ISBN: 0965853454Publication Date: 2005Available in the 2nd floor Reference collection for use in the library at Des Plaines and Skokie (RHC).
Human Body Book: an Illustrated Guide to its Structure Function and Disorders
The Human Body Book by ISBN: 1465402136Publication Date: 2009Find images for all body systems.
Click the Book title. You will see illustrations of the body's physical structure, body systems and other anatomical information. Browse through the list or use the search box to find exactly the organ or body system that you need.
