Anatomy Books on Reserve at the Oakton Library
Some books in the Oakton Library are kept on reserve at the Circulation Desk. These books can be used in the library for 2 hours at a time.
Human Anatomy and Physiology by
Revered for its thorough, clearly written exercises and explanations, this book has provided millions of future health care professionals with a complete hands on laboratory and learning experience.
Call Number: Temporarily Shelved at: Des Plaines and Skokie ReserveISBN: 9780134580999Publication Date: 2018
The Language of Medicine by
Easily and effectively master medical terminology with Davi-Ellen Chabner's The Language of Medicine, 12th Edition! Using Chabner's proven method of learning medical terms by studying them in the context of the human body, this highly-praised and best-selling text helps individuals of all educational backgrounds easily understand and remember important medical terminology by incorporating easy-to-follow explanations, logical and interesting examples, and countless reinforcement exercises. This new twelfth edition also features additional spotlight boxes on high-interest medical topics; updated medical scenario reports, laboratory tests, and clinical procedures; a new mini dictionary; additional in person stories, ADA-compliant resources, and more. No matter where your career path takes you, Chabner's proven method for med term mastery will help keep you grounded. Simple and easy-to-understand explanations of terms enables learners with little or no previous medical or science background to easily grasp medical terms and concepts. Wide variety of interactive exercises provides multiple opportunities to reinforce and remember content. Practical applications in each chapter (including case reports, operative and diagnostic tests, laboratory and x-ray reports) help leaners apply knowledge to situations you will encounter in the clinical environment. Anatomy, physiology, and pathology coverage is presented in detail with clear illustrations and brilliant images to orient learners to the structure and function of the body system. This format offers the best context for learning the medical terms by showing readers how it is used in practice. Actual clinical procedures and lab tests are provided within the body system or medical specialty chapters to further demonstrate medical terminology in action. Abbreviations are covered in every chapter to help learners master the medical shorthand used in clinical practice. Pronunciations of terms appear at the ends of chapters along with phonetic spellings. Comprehensive glossaries (word parts to English and English to word parts) and appendices (plurals, abbreviations, drug resource, and hematologic lab reference) appear at the end of the text and serve as quick references for use in class and on the job. Error-prone abbreviations list derived from the Joint Commission alerts reader to abbreviations that should not be used in the clinical setting. Interactive learner resources on companion website provide users with endless practice building, spelling, listening to, and understanding medical terms, while providing instant feedback. NEW! Elsevier Adaptive Quizzing (EAQ) is now available for separate purchase-Elsevier Adaptive Quizzing is a highly effective, formative evaluation tool that strengthens your knowledge and confidence with high-quality practice questions. Through personalized quizzing, you and your instructors can identify weak topic areas and develop simple strategies to improve your results. NEW! Updated medical scenario reports, exercises, laboratory tests, and clinical procedures give learners practice with medical terminology in current clinical settings. NEW! Mini-Dictionary gives simple, leveled definitions for each of the approximately 2,800 individual medical terms covered in the text. NEW! ADA compliant online student resources ensure learners with disabilities can take full advantage of the supplemental web-based learning tools. NEW! Additional Spotlight boxes focus on high-interest medical topics such as opioid addiction, immunotherapy, and chronic traumatic encephalopathy. NEW! Additional In Person stories bring medical terminology to life.
ISBN: 9780323551472Publication Date: 2020-03-23
Searching for books in the Library's Catalog
Search over 100,000 books in the Library's Catalog and books from 127 Illinois college and university libraries in the I-Share Catalog.
Google Books
Search through millions of the world's books scanned and stored in Google's digital database.
Anatomy Books in the Library Reference Collection
Atlas of Human Anatomy by
Atlas of Human Anatomy uses Frank H. Netter, MD's detailed illustrations to demystify this often intimidating subject.
Copies are available at both campuses.
Call Number: REF. QM25 .N46 2011 (DPC & RHC)ISBN: 9781416059516Publication Date: 2010
Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy by
Atlas of Clinical Gross Anatomy uses over 500 incredibly well-executed and superb dissection photos and illustrations to guide you through all the key structures you'll need to learn in your gross anatomy course.
Copies are available at both campuses.
Call Number: REF. QM25 .A796 2013 (DPC & RHC)ISBN: 9780323077798Publication Date: 2013
Gray's Anatomy by
After more than 150 years of continuous publication, Gray's Anatomy remains the definitive, comprehensive reference on the subject, offering ready access to the information you need to ensure safe, effective practice.
Each chapter has been edited by experts in their field, ensuring access to the very latest evidence-based information on that topic.
Call Number: REF. QM23.2 .G73 2016 (DP & RHC)ISBN: 9780702052309Publication Date: 2016
Gray's Anatomy for Students by
2015 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Basic and Clinical Sciences Category! Anatomy texts just don't get any better than Gray's Anatomy for Students! Now in its 3rd edition, this completely revised medical textbook continues its focus on just the core information you need for your anatomy courses, presenting everything in an easy-to-read, visually appealing format that facilitates study. Obtain reliable, accessible coverage of everything you will learn in your contemporary anatomy classes with expert knowledge from a team of authors who share a wealth of diverse teaching and clinical experience. Easily locate and remember specific structures. More than 1,000 innovative, original illustrations by renowned illustrators Richard Tibbitts and Paul Richardson capture anatomical features with unrivalled clarity. Understand the practical applications of anatomical concepts through unique coverage of surface anatomy, correlative diagnostic images, and clinical case studies. Expedite the review of basic concepts from each chapter with Conceptual Overviews. Stay current and engaged in your anatomy courses with many new "In the Clinic" boxes, which offer access to in-depth clinical discussions related to specific diseases or procedures. Source your review material quickly and easily thanks to a list of additional relevant study aids at the beginning of each chapter. Improve your comprehension of cranial nerves with help from a brand-new visual map summarizing cranial nerve distribution and function. Access the entire contents online at Student Consult, where you can also take advantage of an online anatomy and embryology self-study course, medical clinical cases, physical therapy clinical cases, self-assessment questions, and more. Further enhance your learning by pairing this textbook with its companion review products, Gray's Anatomy for Students Flashcards, 3rd Edition (ISBN: 978-1-4557-1078-2) and Gray's Atlas of Anatomy 2nd Edition (ISBN 978-1-4557-4802-0)! Your purchase entitles you to access the web site until the next edition is published, or until the current edition is no longer offered for sale by Elsevier, whichever occurs first. If the next edition is published less than one year after your purchase, you will be entitled to online access for one year from your date of purchase. Elsevier reserves the right to offer a suitable replacement product (such as a downloadable or CD-ROM-based electronic version) should access to the web site be discontinued.
ISBN: 9780702051319Publication Date: 2014-02-21
Selected books from the Library's catalog
Anatomy: A Regional Atlas of the Human Body by Call Number: QM531 .C57 2011 (DPC & RHC)ISBN: 9781582558899Publication Date: 2011One RHC copy of this book is on reserve.
Human Anatomy by
In this Very Short Introduction Leslie Klenerman provides a clear, concise, and accessible introduction to the structure, function, and main systems of the human body, including anumber of clear and simple illustrations to explain the key areas.
Call Number: QM23.2 .K54 2015 DP Book DisplayISBN: 9780198707370Publication Date: 2015
Color Atlas of Anatomy by
This Color Atlas of Anatomy features full-color photographs of actual cadaver dissections, with accompanying schematic drawings and diagnostic images.
Call Number: OVERSZ. QM25 .R55 2011 (DPC & RHC)ISBN: 9781582558561Publication Date: 2010
Anatomy by
Prepare for the dissection lab and operating room with Anatomy: A Photographic Atlas , 8e. Featuring outstanding full-color photographs of actual cadaver dissections with accompanying schematic drawings and diagnostic images, this proven text depicts anatomic structures more realistically than illustrations in traditional atlases. Chapters are organized by region in the order of a typical dissection with each chapter presenting topographical anatomical structures in a systemic manner. Authentic photographic reproduction of colors, structures, and spatial dimensions as seen in the dissection lab and on the operating table help you develop an understanding of the anatomy of the human body. Functional connections between single organs, the surrounding tissue, and organ systems are clarified to prepare you for the dissection lab and practical exams. Clinical cases and over 1,200 images enhance your understanding. Dissections illustrate the topographical anatomy in layers "from the outside in" to better prepare you for the lab and operating room.
Call Number: RHC. QM25 .R55 2016ISBN: 9781451193183Publication Date: 2015-02-12
