LibGuides: Anatomy and Physiology : Recommended Databases

Recommended databases for background information

Begin your research by looking up your keywords in an online dictionary, encyclopedia or reference book.
(Use your myOakton user name and password for off campus access to library databases.)

Facts on File Science - Human Body Study Modules
11 online modules for the study of the human body and systems

Gale Medical Reference This link opens in a new window
Cross-searchable collection of several health science titles, including The Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery and Medical Tests, The Gale Encyclopedia of Alternative Medicine, Health and Wellness, and The Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine. To limit a search to an individual title, use the "More" icon and then the "Title List" option.
Health Reference Center - Facts on File This link opens in a new window
Includes comprehensive, in-depth coverage of body systems, current health issues, major diseases and conditions, treatments, and procedures, as well as health and nutrition information specific to men, women, children, teens, and seniors.
Science Online This link opens in a new window
Presents a broad range of scientific disciplines through extensive definitions, essays, diagrams, biographies, and experiments.

Recommended databases for scholarly articles

Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.

Try searching for articles in these two science journals.

Science Magazine This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text journal articles online from January 1997 to the present. Science is a peer-reviewed general-science journal published by the American Association of Science (AAAS) that serves as a leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research.
Scientific American This link opens in a new window
Search for full-text journal articles online from January 1993 to the present. Scientific American is the world's premier magazine of scientific discovery and technological innovation for the general public.

Articles on Biology topics can also be found in nursing and medical journals.

CINAHL Plus Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Includes full text for nearly 770 journals indexed in CINAHL (Current Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature).
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a core collection covering more than 542 full-text titles - of which 441 are peer-reviewed - in many medical disciplines including nursing and allied health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.