Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Oakton Community College Archives: Home

Oakton Community College Archives

Oakton Authors Page

Official Policy

AGENDA ITEM 12/19-12 --  4 of 4

8013 --  12/10/2019 -- 1 of 1

COMMUNITY RELATIONS

Library Institutional Archives Collection Development Policy

Mission

The Oakton Community College Library Archives ("Archives") form part of Special Collections, which is the repository for rare tangible works at the College. The mission of the Archives is to manage, collect, preserve, and provide access to official and legal College records, historical/cultural works, and personal papers of enduring value, regardless of format, that were created by the College, its trustees, administrators, faculty, staff, alumni, students, affiliated organizations and members of the larger Oakton Community College district. The Archives function as the institutional memory of the College and its mission is accomplished through organizing and providing access to these records by means of finding aids and descriptive bibliographic metadata.

Scope

The Collection Development Policy 8013 is designed to support the mission statement of the Archives and serves as a guide for the selection, acquisition, maintenance, and retention of records.

The Archives serves as a repository for selected College documents, historical images, and video recordings for all of the College's locations. It preserves historical and cultural records about College activities, people, and events. In addition, it collects records, creative works and personal papers of enduring value primarily for their historical research value that are used by students, staff, faculty, alumni, and the community at large. The Archives seeks the authorized and timely transfers of institutional records and other donations that fit within the scope of this policy and which are typically no longer in active use.

The Vice President for Academic Affairs or designee is authorized by the Board of Trustees to develop procedures for the administration of this Policy.

Presentation from Orientation Week, 2020

Mission Statement

To manage, collect, preserve, and provide access to official and legal records, historical/cultural works, and personal papers of enduring value, regardless of format, that were created by the College, its trustees, administrators, faculty, staff, alumni, students, affiliated organizations and members of the larger Oakton Community College district.

The mission is accomplished through organizing and providing access to these records by means of finding aids and descriptive bibliographic metadata.

The College Archives forms part of Special Collections, the Library’s repository for rare tangible works.

Librarian

Librarian-Part Time

Profile Photo
Gwyn Stupar