Oakton College Library Archives

The College Archives collects materials related to the administrative and academic history of the College; history of student participation in College life including curricular and co-curricular activities; physical development of campus. These include, but are not limited to:

• Administration. 
• Administrative offices. 
• Academic schools/programs. 
• Departmental. 
• Faculty. 
• Students. 

The Archive recognizes the importance of the diversity of Oakton's community and is interested in developing collections that reflect that diversity. In accordance with this interest, Oakton Library Archive is interested in collecting documentation of the following:

• The stories of LGBTIA+ perspectives as a part of Oakton College life
• Persons of Color at Oakton College
• Staff of Oakton College
• Program development narratives
• Student perspectives

In the process of selecting materials to acquisition for the Archives, Oakton Archivists consider the following criteria:

• Access. The Archive provides the widest access possible. Archive materials are available to all researchers, regardless of background, education or research goal. The Archive encourages scholarship and the free exchange of ideas.
• Documentation. In order to provide quality evidence for researchers, the Oakton Archivists appraise all potential acquisitions for materials that provide quality representation of the Oakton College community's values, ideas, and experiences. The Archive encourages the collection of documentation that challenges dominant narratives.
• Inclusion. Collection development of Oakton experiences requires representation of diverse voices and perspectives. The Archive is invested in intentionally expanding their collecting of those narratives.
• Contextuality. Researchers benefit form collections that demonstrate interconnected ideas, people, and history. When considering materials for acquisition, Oakton Archivists keep in mind how materials relate to the whole of the collection.
• Reliability. The Archive desires transparency in its collecting processes and maintains records of acquisitions. Donors are expected to provide information regarding provenance of their materials.
• Responsibility. When considering acquisitions, the Archive keeps in mind issues of sustainability and stewardship. Making sure that we have the resources to care for what is within the Archive while maintaining the integrity of the materials to ensure access.
• Preservation. The Archive strives to protect the materials within its collection while also allowing the most access possible. Digitization is a priority for the Archive in order to maintain the integrity of vulnerable materials.