LibGuides: Medical Assistant: Medical Databases

Helpful databases for Medical Assistant articles

Library databases keep track of published articles from magazines, newspapers, scholarly research journals, and trade publications.

Click on the links below to access research in the medical disciplines.

Once you are logged in with your MyOakton credentials, you can begin searching the databases and retrieving full-text articles that you can save, download, share, print.

Consumer Health Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides information on many health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Provides access to nearly 500 full text, consumer health magazines and journals.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a core collection covering more than 542 full-text titles - of which 441 are peer-reviewed - in many medical disciplines including nursing and allied health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 34 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Academic Search Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
Ferguson's Career Guidance Center This link opens in a new window
Provides detailed profiles of more than 3,300 jobs and 94 industries, invaluable advice on career skills, and more than 55,000 career resource entries.