Step-by-Step: Finding Sources
How to find Books
- Go to the Library Catalog on the Oakton Library website.
- Type in the title, author, or keywords in the search box.
- Check the location and availability of the book.
- If it’s available, note the call number and location.
- If it’s checked out, place a hold or ask a librarian for similar titles.
- Use the filters (e.g., format, date, location) to narrow your search.
Using databases at Oakton to find articles
- Go to the Databases page from the library website.
- Select a database (e.g., Academic Search Complete, Business Source Ultimate).
- Enter your keywords or phrases (e.g., “accounting standards”).
- Use search filters to narrow results (e.g., date, peer-reviewed, full text).
- Click on a title to read the abstract, then download or view the full text.
- Evaluate the article for relevance, credibility, and timeliness.
Need More Help?
Check out Using Databases at Oakton guide on how to get the most out of commonly searched Oakton Library databases.
Choosing Keywords
Before you search, think about your research question and identify key concepts. Start with broad terms, then add more specific ones as needed.
Sample Keyword Search:
- Accountants
- Accounting
- Accounting firms
- Accounting methods
- Accounting Standards
- Government accounting
Books and Databases
-
Accounting Ethics: A Practical Approach
by
ISBN: 9781733259552Publication Date: 2021Written by a CPA with extensive real-world experience, the book includes a summary of each ethical issue, with real-world problems relating to the topics discussed; cases that illustrate how others behaved when faced with an ethical dilemma; ethical standards for public and private accountants; a discussion of ethics in tax practice; a review of California laws and regulations; end-of-chapter questions and cases to clarify and reinforce concepts; AND MUCH MORE. -
The Joy of Accounting: A Game-Changing Approach That Makes Accounting Easy
by
ISBN: 9781735312927Publication Date: 2020Discover a new, graphical way to conquer accounting. The Joy of Accounting uses a revolutionary method of teaching that universities and businesses are raving about. "...has the advantage of showing how accounting works visually. ...I believe that it is of value to anyone who is interested in understanding how accounting works (from high school students to undergrads to MBAs to business executives)." - Paul Healy, James R. Williston Professor of Business Administration, Harvard Business School . -
Nonprofit Bookkeeping and Accounting for Dummies
by
ISBN: 9781394206018Publication Date: 2023Beginner-friendly information you need to successfully manage finances in a not-for-profit organization Nonprofit Bookkeeping & Accounting For Dummies is a helpful guide for anyone who is responsible for financial and accounting operations in nonprofit organizations or needs to read and understand a nonprofit financial statement. It includes information on the basics of nonprofit bookkeeping, general nonprofit accounting principles, basic financial statements, and specific laws and regulations that govern the accounting of nonprofit organizations. -
Wiley CPAexcel Exam Review Study Guide
by
ISBN: 9781119480679Publication Date: 2018The Wiley CPAexcel Study Guide: Auditing and Attestation provides detailed study text to help you identify, focus on, and master specific topic areas that are essential for passing the AUD section of the 2018 CPA Exam.
-
A-Z International Business This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive country-by-country information about business culture, logistics, marketing, communications, money, transportation, and other international business resources.
-
Business Source Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Includes full text business-related magazines and peer-reviewed journals covering marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics along with Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, SWOT Analyses, and Company Profiles.
-
Crain's Chicago Business - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Presents feature articles, business profiles, interviews, financial information, thematic issues and timely news of note for business executives and managers in metro Chicago from 1993 through the present. Once connected, select "Search within this publication."
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
-
Course ReservesOakton College Library Course Reserves are available at both campus as well as online. Physical reserves are held behind our circulation desks in both libraries, and items on reserve can only be requested in person. You can search for items on reserve using our O.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) Catalog.
-
Information about textbooksLearn about ways to access or save money on your textbooks. You will also find information from the Oakton Bookstore and details about the Student Government Textbook Scholarship to help reduce costs.
Professional Journals
-
Accounting ReviewA bimonthly peer-reviewed academic journal published by the American Accounting Association that covers accounting with a scope encompassing any accounting-related subject and any research methodology.
-
CPA JournalIn-depth insight and analysis from the accounting and financial world, providing professionals news and information needed to succeed.
Blogs and Websites
-
Accounting Today BlogA leading provider of online business news for the accounting community, offering breaking news, in-depth features, and a host of resources.
-
Bloomberg Accounting BlogA spinoff of financial news outlet Bloomberg, it organizes the latest developments related to the world of professional finance, including tax laws and emerging technology.
-
Internal Revenue ServiceAs the nation's tax collection agency, the IRS website offers a wealth of information and resources related to federal taxation, tax laws, forms, and regulations.
-
U.S. Securities and Exchange CommissionAccounting offices at the SEC are organized such that the Commission has an Office of the Chief Accountant that is responsible for establishing and enforcing accounting and auditing policy.