Background Information (Reference)
links to specific titles- The Oxford Encyclopedia of Race and Education by The Oxford Encyclopedia of Race and Education is designed to provide scholars, students, and educational practitioners access to research, theories, and historical and contemporary reviews of the many complex and nuanced ways race is enacted in education in different nations. Understanding race in education requires multidisciplinary perspectives, multiple voices and histories, and research that crosses geographic and conceptual boundaries. Its meaning, significance, discourse, and mobilization have shifted over time, and in different contexts around the globe. One thing that has remained constant, however, is that regardless of the society or disciplinary perspective, race is rooted in social relationships and power. Addressing race and education requires discussions of identity, hegemony, and the historical and contemporary roles of education and schooling in perpetuating ideologies of racial supremacy. It also requires investigation into the possibilities education and schooling can provide for disrupting those ideologies and instigating social change. By placing race at the forefront of examination in this volume, the legacies of inequality inherited from histories of colonialism and imperialism can be challenged. Unlike other encyclopedias, The Oxford Encyclopedia of Race and Education provides a broad breadth of concepts, themes, and topical areas while also offering greater depth and specificity so that ideas and histories can be understood within their proper social and global context. The articles are written and reviewed by recognized scholars from around the world, and provide a critical examination of the multiple ways race is experienced, conceptualized, and enacted. The Oxford Encyclopedia of Race and Education is a landmark compilation of cutting-edge scholarship that will be essential reading for anyone interested in the ways in which education takes place today.Call Number: ebook; click to accessISBN: 9780190694319Publication Date: 2024-03-28
Encyclopedia of African American Artists by
African American heritage is rich with stories of family, community, faith, love, adaptation and adjustment, grief, and suffering, all captured in a variety of media by artists intimately familiar with them. From traditional media of painting and artists such as Horace Pippin and Faith Ringgold, to photography of Gordon Parks, and new media of Sam Gilliam and Martin Puryear (installation art), the African American experience is reflected across generations and works. Eight pages of color plates and black and white images throughout the book introduce both favorite and new artists to students and adult readers alike. African American heritage is rich with stories of family, community, faith, love, adaptation and adjustment, grief, and suffering, all captured in a variety of media by artists intimately familiar with them. From traditional media of painting and artists such as Horace Pippin and Faith Ringgold, to photography of Gordon Parks, and new media of Sam Gilliam and Martin Puryear (installation art), the African American experience is reflected across generations and works. Eight pages of color plates and black and white images throughout the book introduce both favorite and new artists to students and adult readers alike. A sampling of the artists included: Romare Bearden, Elizabeth Catlett, Achamyele Debela, and Melvin Edwards.
ISBN: 9780313337611Publication Date: 2009-03-20
The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing by
A timely survey of an important sector of American letters, The Encyclopedia of African-American Writing covers the role and influence of African American cultural leaders, from all walks of life, from the 18th century to the present. Readers will explore what inspired various African-American writers to create poems, plays, short stories, novels, essays, opinion pieces and numerous other works, and how those writings contributed to culture in America today.
ISBN: 9781682177181Publication Date: 2018-06-30
Oakton Library Databases for Black Studies
Primary Sources
For scholarly research use Ethnic Diversity Source, for oral history, use History Makers. For essays, speeches, letters and other non-fiction writings use Black Thought and Culture.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text database that covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of many ethnic populations in North America
- History Makers Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
Video oral history interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements from across the United States, from a variety of fields, and with memories stretching from the 1890s to the present.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. - Oxford African American Studies Center This link opens in a new windowPrimary documents, web sites, and maps. Material is compiled by Oxford University Press from their many reference works, such as Africana, Encyclopedia of African American History, various Oxford Companions, and the forthcoming African American National Biography.
Historical Popular Resources
Below are popular sources (newspapers and magazines) including Jet, Ebony, the Chicago Defender, and African American Serials which "archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922."
- African American Historical Serials Collection This link opens in a new window
The African American Historical Serials Collection is an archive of periodicals that document the history of African American religious life and culture between 1829 and 1922. It includes newspapers and magazines, plus reports and annuals from African American religious organizations, including churches and social service agencies.
- JET Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowJet Magazine Archive covers art, news, politics and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes over 3,100 issues providing a broad view of culture, fashion and entertainment from its first issue in 1951 through 2014.
- Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowEbony is a monthly magazine that focuses on news, culture, and entertainment. Its target audience is the African-American community, and its coverage includes the lifestyles and accomplishments of influential black people, fashion, beauty, and politics.
- Chicago Defender NewsBank This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text Chicago Defender articles from 2008 to the present. Includes a calendar with links to available issues.