Just the Facts
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Get help from Oakton's Librarians!
| Email us | ||
|
Call us: |
||
| Text us: 847-906-2746 |
||
|
Social Media |
Do I Really Need to Use Books?
Books can provide different information about your topic.
Magazines and Newspapers include quick details about a person or an event.
Books provide more complete information and also often include additional research on a topic or a special perspective.
As you research your topic you may want to use books. Sometimes only a chapter or a small section of a book is needed. If your research requires in depth knowledge you may want to read one or more books completely.
Corot, Jean Baptiste Camille. Interrupted Reading. 1870. Art Institute Chicago, https://www.artic.edu/artworks/81512/interrupted-reading.
Finding Books and Articles - Search OWL
Search OWL (Oakton's Whole Library)
Use the OWL link!
You can search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
Focus Your Search for Articles with a Database
- Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new windowDatabase of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
- CQ Researcher This link opens in a new windowEach issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
Newpapers - Facts, Opinions, Local News and World News
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowProvides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
- Chicago Tribune ProQuest This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text daily Chicago Tribune articles from 1985 to the present.
- Chicago Sun-Times NewsBank This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text daily Chicago Sun-Times articles from 1985 to the present.