LibGuides: Native American and Indigenous Studies: Native American & Indigenous Studies Home

Featured Databases

eHRAF World Cultures
eHRAF World Cultures contains ethnographic collections covering 281 cultures, including indigenous peoples and ethnic groups, as well as immigrant cultures in the U.S. and Canada. Comprehensive summaries cover topics such as economy, history and cultural relations, family and kinship, sociopolitical organization, and religion.

World Geography & Culture - Infobase

Provides country geography and physical features, government, people, and society facts at a glance and in-depth coverage through country entries, maps, flags, images, statistics, news articles, a gazetteer, and more.

Credo Reference - All Subjects Search
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context

Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.

Ethnic Diversity Source - EBSCO

Full-text database that covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of many ethnic populations in North America
American History Online - Infobase

Spans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience.
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO

Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
JSTOR

Full text multi-disciplinary database of journal articles, books, images, and primary sources. Some subject areas include art, business, economics, history, humanities, language and literature, law, medicine, allied health, science, and social sciences.

The subscription includes the following JSTOR collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV, 19th Century British Pamphlets, Business IV, Global Plants, Hebrew Journals, Ireland, Life Sciences Collection, Lives of Literature, Security Studies, Struggles for Freedom - South Africa, Sustainability, and World Heritage Sites - Africa.

How to teach Native American history: The vexing question of righting history's wrongs.
By Richard Meyers, an Oglala Sioux (Lakota) tribal member living among his tiyóšpaye (extended family) in Wanblee, South Dakota and Director of Graduate Studies at Oglala Lakota College.
Decolonizing the Classroom through Indigenous Education
The Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC) "To be a part of a decolonizing process, this education should shift from teaching about Indigenous Peoples and knowledge to teaching with Indigenous Peoples and within Indigenous worldviews."