Academic Databases
Below are some of Oakton Library's databases where you can find peer-reviewed articles. Click the photograph above to access a full A to Z list of the library's databases.
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
Peer-reviewed, official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society; focused on the study of gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
Peer-reviewed Sources
Peer-reviewed or scholarly articles are written by experts for an audience who desires to explore a topic in-depth. These articles often contain specialized language. These articles are reviewed by a group of experts in the field prior to publication to ensure that both the methods and conclusions are accurate. These articles are often longer and cite extensive references. They are generally published by university presses, or professional associations.
Most databases allow you to limit your search to include "peer-reviewed" articles only. Oftentimes, in a general list of resources, these articles will show that they are peer-reviewed, or from an academic journal. Many professors will require you to use peer-reviewed articles because of their research depth and their lengthy vetting process.
Some examples of peer-reviewed journals from the Oakton Whole Library (O.W.L.):
Research Bites: How to Skim Articles
OWL
O.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library)
Here's a link to OWL:
https://i-share-oak.primo.exlibrisgroup.com/discovery/search?vid=01CARLI_OAK:CARLI_OAK&lang=en
Architecture Sources
Here are some resources from Oakton Library on architecture.