Suggested search terms
- Substance abuse - United States
- Feminism - United States
- Race discrimination
- United States Poverty - United States
- Family violence - United States
- Aging
- Suicide
- Alcoholism
- Prisons - United States
- Immigrants - United States
- Sociology, Urban
- Sociology
- Social movements --United States --History --20th century
- Religion and sociology --United States
- Globalization --Social aspects
- Man-woman relationships --United States
- Drug addiction
- Drug addiction --Treatment
- Criminals
-
Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
-
SocINDEX Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
-
Social Problems - Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Social Problems presents scholarly articles offering critical perspectives on contemporary social issues as well as influential sociological findings and theories that have the ability to help us better understand and deal with our complex social environment.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
-
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
-
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
-
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Gale eBook editions of multiple reference titles, including Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Encyclopaedia Judaica, and International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.
-
Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. -
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies that document women's activism in American public life.
-
Gender & Society - SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society; focused on the study of gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
-
Diversity (Academic Video Online) - Alexander Street Press This link opens in a new window
This video collection features interviews, documentaries, and more illustrating the experiences of women and of LGBTQIA and BIPOC populations in the United States. It also includes diversity training videos.
-
Critical SociologyCritical Sociology publishes articles informed by a critical left perspective on contemporary social issues continuing its status as a select alternative social science journal.
-
Current SociologyCurrent Sociology is a fully peer-reviewed, international journal that publishes original research and innovative critical commentary both on current debates within sociology as a developing discipline, and the contribution that sociologists can make to understanding and influencing current issues arising in the development of modern societies in a globalizing world.
-
Sociology of EducationSociology of Education (SOE) provides a forum for studies in the sociology of education and human social development.SOE publishes research that examines how social institutions and individuals' experiences within these institutions affect educational processes and social development. Such research may span various levels of analysis, ranging from the individual to the structure of relations among social and educational institutions. In an increasingly complex society, important educational issues arise throughout the life cycle. The journal presents a balance of papers examining all stages and all types of education at the individual, institutional, and organizational levels.
-
American Journal of SociologyEstablished in 1895 as the first US scholarly journal in its field, the American Journal of Sociology (AJS) presents pathbreaking work from all areas of sociology, with an emphasis on theory building and innovative methods. AJS strives to speak to the general sociology reader and is open to contributions from across the social sciences—political science, economics, history, anthropology, and statistics in addition to sociology—that seriously engage the sociological literature to forge new ways of understanding the social. AJS offers a substantial book review section that identifies the most salient work of both emerging and enduring scholars of social science. Commissioned review essays appear occasionally, offering the readers a comparative, in-depth examination of prominent titles.
-
Journal of Applied Social SciencesThe Journal of Applied Social Science (JASS) is the official, peer-refereed publication of the Association for Applied and Clinical Sociology (AACS). JASS reflects more than 25 years of journal sponsorship by AACS and its predecessor organizations, the Society for Applied Sociology and the Sociological Practice Association. The Journal of Applied Social Science is the direct amalgamated successor of two previously published journals: The Journal of Applied Sociology and Sociological Practice: A Journal of Applied and Clinical Sociology.
-
Comparative SociologyCovers a detailed and scholarly account of studies made in different cultures on a comparative basis.
-
Teaching SociologyTeaching Sociology publishes articles, notes, and reviews intended to be helpful to the discipline's teachers. Articles range from experimental studies of teaching and learning to broad, synthetic essays on pedagogically important issues. Notes focus on specific teaching issues or techniques. The general intent is to share theoretically stimulating and practically useful information and advice with teachers. Formats include full-length articles; notes of ten pages or less; interviews, review essays; reviews of books, films, videos, and software; and conversations.
-
Rural SociologyPublication of the Rural Sociological Society. Articles for the professional in rural sociology on extractive industries, agriculture and environmental concerns, attitudes and behaviors of rural residents and book reviews.
Videos
- This American Life-Videos This American Life is a weekly public radio program and podcast. Each week we choose a theme and put together different kinds of stories on that theme.
Images
- Saskia Art Images Collection This link opens in a new window
Contains 30,000 digital images of paintings, sculpture and architecture, as well as archaeological sites. To view image collections off campus, use the "OFF Campus" browsing options using the A-Z link above.
For "ON Campus" access, use this link and choose "Browse Collection ON Campus."
- American Sociological Association
The American Sociological Association, founded in 1905, is a non-profit membership association dedicated to serving sociologists in their work.
- Center for the Study and Prevention of Violence
This center at the University of Colorado provides fact sheets on topics related to violence, including many focused on school violence.
- Everyday Sociology Blog
A group blog that features commentary from contributing sociologists around the country. Supported by Norton, a publisher of college textbooks.
- Federal Government Data and Statistics
These federal agency programs collect, analyze, and disseminate statistical data and information.
- First Measured Century
This companion web site to a three-hour PBS special with Ben Wattenberg presents information on social trends in the 20th century, along with lesson plans, a timeline, and more.
- Institute for Social Research
Results of research studies done at this center at the University of Michigan. Topics range from attitudes toward cell phones, why women don't enter careers in math and science, and how wealth influences people's experiences in their last year of life.
- International Sociological Association
This society presents such resources as a code of ethics for sociologists and a list of the books sociologists identified as most influential in the development of their careers.
- National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Data, reports, and links on topics related to criminology and corrections. From the Department of Justice.
- National Opinion Research Center (NORC)
NORC at the University of Chicago pursues studies on a wide variety of topics from aging to energy consumption, and substance abuse.
- Pew Global Attitudes Project
This ambitious project from the Pew Research Center presents the results of more than 90,000 interviews in 50 countries.
- Population Reference Bureau
Articles, datasheets, and lesson plans on topics related to the study of population.
- Population Studies Center at the University of Michigan
Interdisciplinary research on population, including studies in sociology, economics, public health, anthropology, and political science.
- Poverty Mapping (SEDAC)
Geographic distribution of people living in poverty and the conditions of their environment as shown through datasets and maps from the Socioeconomic Data And Applications Center (SEDAC).
- Public Agenda Online
Polling data on a wide array of topics and issues.
- Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Includes data archives of public opinion information from surveys in the United States, Japan, and Latin America, and information on polling and its uses.
- Social Psychology Network
One of the largest Internet sites devoted to psychological research and teaching. In these pages, you'll find more than 20,000 links related to psychology.
- Sociological Research Online
Peer-reviewed sociology online journal looking at current issues. Sociological Research Online (SRO) is now published by the BSA and SAGE, and as of August 2017 this site will no longer be active
- Sociology Central
British sociologist Chris Livesey has made available notes, worksheets, lessons, and myriad other resources for teaching and learning sociology.
- Sociology of Religion
A nice introduction to this subfield from the Hartford Institute for Religion Research.
- Survey Research
The Writing Center at Colorado State University presents this guide to conducting survey research and reporting on results.
- U.S. Census Bureau
Data tables and maps presenting census data, plus materials to help teachers use census information.
American Sociological Association
- External Data Resources on Sociology as a Profession and Discipline
Access datasets on post-secondary education, employment, and demographics from the National Science Foundation (NSF) and the National Center for Education Statistics (NCES).