New Books
Survival is a promise : the eternal life of Audre Lorde, by Alexis Pauline
The focus on Lorde's quotable essays, to the neglect of her complex poems, has obscured her deep engagement with the natural world and the planetary dynamics of geology, meteorology, and biology. Lorde's ecological imagery is not merely metaphorical but rather a literal guide to being of Earth on Earth, to survival--to living the ethics that a Black feminist lesbian warrior poetics demands
Queer As Folklore : The Hidden Queer History of Myths and Monsters. by Sacha Coward.
Featuring images from archives, galleries and museums around the world, each chapter investigates the queer history of different mythic and folkloric characters, both old and new.
ebook; log in with your Oakton credentials.
Without exception : reclaiming abortion, personhood, and freedom by Pam Houston.
A place of our own : six spaces that shaped queer women's culture
In A Place of Our Own, journalist June Thomas invites readers into six iconic lesbian spaces over the course of the last sixty years, including the rural commune, the sex toy boutique, the vacation spot, and the feminist bookstore.
Beauvoir and Belle : a Black feminist critique of The second sex by Kathryn Sophia Belle
Classics in WGSS & LBGTQ Studies
Gender Trouble by Call Number: Audio book; click to accessISBN: 9781541498709Publication Date: 2018-02-27
Teaching to Transgress by Call Number: Ebook and Print, click to accessISBN: 9780415908078Publication Date: 1994-09-14
The well of loneliness by Call Number: PR6015.A33 W4 2015 (DP)ISBN: 9781473521612Publication Date: 1928
Related Research Guides
WGSS Databases
- LGBTQ+ Source EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly and popular LGBTQ+ publications in full text, plus historically important primary sources, including monographs, magazines, newspapers and videos.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text database that covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of many ethnic populations in North America
- SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
Background Information Databases
A Dictionary of Gender Studies by Call Number: ebook; click to accessISBN: 9780191834837Publication Date: 2017This new dictionary provides clear and accessible definitions of a range of terms from within the fast-developing field of Gender Studies. It covers terms which have emerged out of Gender Studies, such as cyber feminism, the double burden, and the male gaze, and gender-focused definitions of more general terms, such as housework, intersectionality, and trolling. It also covers major feminist figures, including Hélène Cixous, bell hooks, and Mary Wollstonecraft, as well as groups and movements from Votes for Women to Reclaim the Night
Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, BisexualGlobal Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) History by Call Number: ebook; click to accessISBN: 9780684325545Publication Date: 2019-02-08The Global Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History provides a global view of the history of LGBTQ, covering significant figures and events worldwide.
- LGBTQ+ Studies AVON Academic Videos Online - ASP This link opens in a new windowProvides a searchable online collection of recent documentary, performance, animation, and biographical videos about the lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender political, cultural, and social movements.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies that document women's activism in American public life.
WGSS and LBGTQ+ Select Journals
The following journals are core journals in the field based on a survey conducted by The American College and Research Libraries WGS Section of scholars, teachers and practictioners in the field. See link below.
To request an article that we do not have access to, use the InterLibrary Loan Request form below.
- Feminist StudiesFrom 1990 to 35 months prior to current date.
- Feminist TheoryFeminist Theory is an international peer reviewed journal that provides a forum for critical analysis and constructive debate within feminism.
- "Frontiers: A Journal of Women Studies"Original articles covering contemporary and historical social issues in women's studies.
- Gender & Society (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed, official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society; focused on the study of gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
- GLQ: A Journal of Lesbian & Gay StudiesPublishes scholarship, criticism and commentary in the rapidly expanding interdisciplinary field of gay and lesbian studies.
- InterAlia: A Journal of Queer StudiesInterAlia, a peer-reviewed scholarly journal for queer theory, is open to submissions from a wide range of fields, written in English, Spanish or Polish.
- Journal of Popular CultureArts & Entertainment (General); Ethnic & Cultural Studies; Social Commentary & Opinion; Social Sciences & Humanities (General)
- Signs: Journal of Women in Culture & SocietyFrom 1990-one year prior to current date.
- List of Core Journals in WGSSIn 2014, members of ACRL's WGSS Collections Committee conducted an online Core Journals Survey of scholars, teachers, and other practitioners in Women, Gender, Sexuality Studies and related fields in order to discover high-use journals.
Oakton will not have access to all journals on this list. You can request articles using the ILL Request Form. - Interlibrary Loan Request FormThis form is *only* for articles that we do not have access to at Oakton. If you're not sure, reach out the library before submitting the request.
Open Access Materials
- Open Access Textbook: Introduction to LGBTQ+ Studies: A Cross-Disciplinary Approach
Designed for an introductory course, this textbook takes a cross-disciplinary approach to the study of LGBTQ+ issues that helps students grasp core concepts through a variety of different perspectives. - Open Textbook Library Gender & Sexuality TitlesTextbooks in the Open Textbook Library are considered open because they are free to use and distribute, and are licensed to be freely adapted or changed with proper attribution.
- Open Access WGSS JournalsThe WGSS Section of the American College and Research Libraries Association has compiled this list of open access journals.
- WGSS Open Course and Courseware (teaching and learning materials, syllabi, learning activities etc.)Note on Open Courses and Courseware
Please note that the availability of these changes frequently; links may lead to courses that are out of date.
List compiled by the WGSS Section of the ACRL.