Local Resources
- LGBTQ+ ResourcesList compiled be Evanston public library and includes LGBTQ+ affirming health care, mental health, community, legal info and more.
- Women and Children First Bookstore
"As intersectional trans-inclusive feminists, we believe books are tools for liberation. Since 1979, we have celebrated and amplified underrepresented voices." Offers events and book clubs as well.
WGSS Local Archives and Special Collections
- The Jenny Knauss CollectionLocated at Northwestern University, The Jenny Knauss Collection primarily consists of Knauss's personal files of Chicago Women's Liberation Union activities from 1971-1978. Included are calendars, conference agendas and reports, position papers, committee reports, and topical files of articles, class papers, clippings, and brochures on various women's issues, including the equal rights amendment, media, psychology, labor and economics, education, and theater. Many files contain Knauss's notes.
- Gerber Hart LibraryGerber/Hart Library and Archives was founded in 1981 on the belief that knowledge is key to dispelling homophobia and the marginalization of sexual and gender minorities. Gerber/Hart collects, preserves, and makes accessible items related to LGBTQ history and culture. Open to everyone, Gerber/Hart is dedicated to promoting research, learning, exploration, and discovery in a safe atmosphere.
- Midwest Women's Historical Collection EphemeraThis collection contains items and files that pertain to the history of women, with a focus on the Midwestern United States.
- Hidden History to Radical Pride: LGBTQ+ Archives at the NewberryLearn more about what's offered at the Newberry Library related to LGBTQ+ history.
- Women and Leadership ArchivesLocated at Loyola University Chicago, the Women and Leadership Archives (WLA) collects, preserves, and makes available permanently valuable records of women and women's organizations, which document women's lives, roles, and contributions.
WGSS and the local arts
- About Face Theater
About Face Theatre creates exceptional, innovative, and adventurous theatre and educational programming that advances the national dialogue on sexual and gender identity, and challenges and entertains audiences in Chicago and beyond - Artemisia Theater Company
"Artemisia produces plays that empower women, creating career-altering opportunities for female identifying theatre artists of all racial and ethnic backgrounds; sexual orientations and identities; economic status; ages and disabilities. We make women heroes of their own lives by sharing their stories and amplifying their voices." - Brave Space Alliance
"Brave Space Alliance is the first Black-led, trans-led LGBTQ Center located on the South Side of Chicago, dedicated to creating and providing affirming, culturally competent, for-us by-us resources, programming, and services for LGBTQ individuals on the South and West sides of the city. We strive to empower, embolden, and educate each other through mutual aid, knowledge-sharing, and the creation of community-sourced resources as we build toward the liberation of all oppressed peoples. " - Jane Addams Hull House Museum
The Jane Addams Hull-House Museum serves as a dynamic memorial to social reformer Jane Addams, the first American woman to receive the Nobel Peace Prize, and her colleagues whose work changed the lives of their immigrant neighbors as well as national and international public policy. The Museum preserves and develops the original Hull-House site for the interpretation and continuation of the historic settlement house vision, linking research, education, and social engagement - Rivendell Theater Company
"Rivendell is Chicago’s leading theatre company dedicated to women’s stories. Experience this unusual platform for groundbreaking portrayals of provocative social themes through a female lens. Through the power of storytelling, Rivendell skillfully delivers fresh perspectives and invites discussion on timely issues important to us all." - Woman Made Gallery
"Woman Made Gallery is a space for women and non-binary artists, including trans women and femme/feminine-identifying genderqueer artists. We welcome artists from our local community, regionally based, and around the world."