Finding Books - Search OWL
Search OWL (Oakton's Whole Library)
Use the OWL link!
You can search for books, ebooks, articles, and more.
Encyclopedia of Chicago - online
The Encyclopedia of Chicago by Call Number: REF. F548.3 .E53 2004ISBN: 0226310159Publication Date: 2004-10-15Developed by the Newberry Library with the cooperation of the Chicago Historical Society, The Encyclopedia of Chicago is the definitive historical reference on metropolitan Chicago.
- Encyclopedia of Chicago - onlineExplore Chicago history in the online version of the Encyclopedia.
Find short descriptions of neighborhoods from this source using the links below.
Books and Ebooks
The Chicago 77
With over two hundred neighborhoods divided into seventy-seven community areas, Chicago offers a dazzling and daunting challenge to ambitious tourists and lifelong citizens. In a handbook that is both an entertaining adventure and a methodical survey, Mary Zangs tackles all seventy-seven communities, providing maps, points of interest and local perspectives for the many places Chicagoans call home.
Chicago Area Ethnic Handbook
The second edition, completely updated with six-county demographics (Cook, Lake, DuPage, McHenry, Will and Kane) historical backgrounds, immigration and migration patterns, cultural traditions, issues for the communities, special health concerns and more. Covers 37 of the area's most prominent ethnic communities, in individual chapters, each written by scholars and community leaders.
Chicago Neighborhoods and Suburbs
Which neighborhood?? Many of us, in fact, know little of the neighborhoods beyond those where we work, play, and live. This is especially true in Chicagoland, a region that spans over 4,400 square miles and is home to more than 9.5 million residents. In Chicago Neighborhoods and Suburbs, historian Ann Durkin Keating sheds new light on twenty-first-century Chicago.
Ethnic Studies of Life in Chicago
Latinos in Chicago
The Path to Political Power for Latinos in Chicago In the Midwest's largest city, Latinos have been fighting for political representation for more than half a century. In this exploration of urban politics in Chicago, Wilfredo Cruz shows for the first time how Latinos went from being ignored by the Irish-controlled political machine to becoming a respected constituency. Beginning with the Latino community's first attempt to acquire a political voice in Chicago politics in 1911 and continuing through Latino officeholders of the early twenty-first century, Cruz surveys not only the struggles of this community-specifically the two largest Latino groups in the city, Mexicans and Puerto Ricans. With this book, Cruz asks and answers this question: What does the future hold for Latinos politically in Chicago?
Brown in the Windy City
Like other industrial cities in the postwar period, Chicago underwent the dramatic population shifts that radically changed the complexion of the urban north. As African American populations grew and white communities declined throughout the 1960s and 1970s, Mexicans and Puerto Ricans migrated to the city. "Brown in the Windy City" is the first history to examine the migration and settlement of Mexicans and Puerto Ricans in the postwar era. Fernindez demonstrates how Mexicans and Puerto Ricans collectively articulated a distinct racial position in Chicago, one that was flexible and fluid, neither black nor white.
Producing Local Color
"Producing Local Color" is a guided tour of three alternative worlds that thrive in the Chicago neighborhoods of Bronzeville, Pilsen, and Rogers Park. These three neighborhoods are, respectively, historically African American, predominantly Mexican American, and proudly ethnically mixed. Drawing on her ethnographic research in each place, Diane Grams presents and analyzes the different kinds of networks of interest and support that sustain the making of art outside of the limelight. "Producing Local Color" also provides a thought-provoking account of how urban neighborhoods change and grow.
Redlined
Set against the backdrop of the Civil Rights Movement, Redlined exposes the racist lending rules that refuse mortgages to anyone in areas with even one black resident. As blacks move deeper into Chicago's West Side during the 1960s, whites flee by the thousands. But Linda Gartz's parents, Fred and Lil choose to stay in their integrating neighborhood, overcoming previous prejudices as they meet and form friendships with their African American neighbors. Redlined delivers a riveting story of a community fractured by racial turmoil, an unraveling and conflicted marriage, a daughter's fight for sexual independence, and an up-close, intimate view of the racial and social upheavals of the 1960s.
Chicanas of 18th Street
Chicanas of 18th Street reveals the convictions and approaches of those organizing for social reform. In chronicling a pivotal moment in the history of community activism in Chicago, the women discuss how education, immigration, religion, identity, and acculturation affected the Chicano movement. Chicanas of 18th Street underscores the hierarchies of race, gender, and class while stressing the interplay of individual and collective values in the development of community reform.