What Are You Looking For?
Are you looking for... 
Books ??
Articles ??
Click over to the Find Articles page for links and information about more article databases.
Where to Browse for Articles?
The databases linked below are good places to start.
You can:
- Find articles on media and the impact on people
- Get citations for every article in the databases.
-
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
-
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
Welcome
Welcome to the Oakton Library and Your Research Class! 
My name is Ruth Whitney and I'll be your guide to learning about
research and library resources at Oakton.
This online guide to the Oakton Library will help you
- Learn about how to find sources for your first essay and the research paper.
- Select and search Library databases
- Search tips,
- Tools for saving articles you find,
- Tools for getting article citations
- Learn about MLA citations
- Discover how the Oakton Library can help you succeed with your research assignment
Annotated Bibliography and Research Assignments
Your task for Paper 2 - Annotated Bibliography is to
- Find four (4) total sources about a topic in media that you want to pursue in your Research Proposal and Research Paper.
- Read the articles
- Summarize the information in each article,
- Evaluate each article for qualify and how it fits into your research
At least 3 of your 5 sources in your Annotated Bibliography need to be
scholarly sources that you’ve gotten through any of the library databases
that we have learned how to use, Google Scholar, or through Perplexity
Academic Search.
Be Strategic
Have a Strategy for Your Time and Work
- Choose the subject or topic for your paper
- Find words that you can use to search for good sources
- Find articles on your topic
- Find the required sources
- What kind of source do you need? Articles? Books? Websites?
- How many sources?
- Check for Quality and Fit
- Do the articles, books or websites have good information?
- Is the information helpful for your paper?
- Plan how to add the ideas and quotes into your paper
- Show where the information you use comes from - Cite your Sources!
An Oakton Librarian will be glad to help you with any of these steps in your research.
- Visit the library at either campus
- Chat with a librarian to ask your questions online
- Make a research appointment for one-on-one help.