Explore All of the Oakton Library Databases
-
Oakton Library A to Z Database ListBrowse through the list of more than 200 databases that are available through the Oakton Library.
Click on the database name and search for articles.
Standards of Quality Journalism
Infographic: Seven Standards of Quality Journalism. News Literacy Project, January 2020, https://newslit.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/09/PracticingQualityJournalism-2020.pdf
What can I do with this page? Find great articles for your paper!
Search for articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.
When you're not on campus, sign in to the databases with your Oakton username and password.
Oakton Library Databases - Start Your Research Here
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
-
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
-
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.
Evaluate Your Sources
- Check for Quality and Fit
- Do the articles, books or websites have good information?
- Is the information helpful for your paper?
- Try the SIFT method to evaluate the article, book, or website
- Stop and read laterally means open a new tab and try to find other sources on your song
- Investigate - does another source give you the same, more, or better information?
- Find - Can you find better information?
- Try changing your search terms
- Look in different types of sources
- Trace the sources to find
- Who wrote it?
- Who published or uploaded it?
- When was it posted or uploaded?
Google Scholar
Before you start searching Google Scholar, take a look at What is Google Scholar and How Do I Use It? from the Library at Sam Houston State University.
-
Google ScholarUse this link for the basic search box.
-
Google Scholar - Advanced SearchUse this link to try a search with more detailed options.