Journal of Gender, Race, & Justice
Founded in 1996, the Journal explores how we are classified, stratified, ignored, and singled out under the law because of our race, sex, gender, economic class, ability, sexual identity, and the multitude of labels applied to us. Identity is a matrix of experiences; when the law fails to recognize any one facet of our identity, both the law and the person lose invaluable dimension. Our challenge is to examine how we negotiate our identities, how the legal system negotiates them for us and how these negotiations affect our ability to attain justice.(copied from the journal's website: https://jgrj.law.uiowa.edu/)
Journal of Conflict Resolution
Journal of Conflict Resolution (JCR), peer-reviewed and published eight times a year, for more than fifty years has provided scholars and researchers with the latest studies and theories on the causes of and solutions to the full range of human conflict.
Ethnic and Racial Studies
Ethnic and Racial Studies aims to be the leading international journal for the analysis of the role of race, racism, ethnicity, migration and forms of ethno-nationalism. These social phenomena are at the heart of many of the major social and political issues in the modern world. As the leading journal in these areas we seek to provide an interdisciplinary academic forum for the presentation of original research and theoretical analysis, drawing particularly on sociology, social policy, anthropology, political science, international relations, geography, history, social psychology and cultural studies. (copied from journal website: https://www.tandfonline.com/action/journalInformation?show=aimsScope&journalCode=rers20)
Recommended Databases for Articles
- Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.
- You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases.
- Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
Primary Sources
Search below for digitized documents, photographs, and more.
- Black Thought and Culture This link opens in a new window
Black Thought and Culture contains 1,303 sources with 1,210 authors, covering the non-fiction published works of leading African Americans. - Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new windowProvides a collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies that document women's activism in American public life.
Advanced Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - Tutorial
Length: 3:27. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.