It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Background information provides basic facts, history, descriptions and concepts about your topic. Use only the information that you find useful in starting your research. You can always return to your sources if you need more in-depth information as you get deeper into your research topic.
Length: 3:07. Hit play and then watch full screen or on YouTube.
Recommended databases for background information
Begin your research by looking up your keywords in an online dictionary, encyclopedia or reference book.
Basic introduction to over 75,000 different topics, including encyclopedia articles, maps, news, definitions, and statistics. Includes a dictionary/thesaurus, media (photographs & selected audio/video files), famous quotations, country profiles, selected websites, and news articles.
Provides a searchable collection of over 8,000 online streaming videos - including commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries - for the study of American history.
Provides a searchable streaming video collection of issue-based documentaries from around the world covering key issues and events of recent global history in the fields of Immigration and Border Studies, Middle East Studies, Urban Studies, Political Science, Globalization, and Human Rights.