LibGuides: Sociology: Article Databases

Recommended databases for background information

Begin your research by looking up your keywords in an online dictionary, encyclopedia or reference book.

Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.

You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases.

Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.

CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts.
Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new window
Contains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles. Among the sociology specific books are: Cambridge Dictionary of Sociology, The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology, World of Sociology by Gale, The Blackwell Dictionary of Sociology, and books from the Contemporary World Issues Series.
Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new window
eBook editions of Complete Dictionary of Scientific Biography, Encyclopaedia Judaica, International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences, and International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences.
Social Problems -- Oxford Journals This link opens in a new window
Social Problems presents scholarly articles offering critical perspectives on contemporary social issues as well as influential sociological findings and theories that have the ability to help us better understand and deal with our complex social environment.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Provides a collection of books, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies that document women's activism in American public life.
Gender & Society (SAGE Journals) This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed, official journal of Sociologists for Women in Society; focused on the study of gender and gendered processes in interactions, organizations, societies, and global and transnational spaces.
SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains reference book titles, pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs.