Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested search terms
Chicago with keywords such as:
What is the difference between scholarly and popular articles?
Length: 1:44. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.
Use these online databases to find articles about the Chicago region
Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.
You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's
A-Z List of Databases.
Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.
Chicago Tribune ProQuest
Provides searchable full-text daily Chicago Tribune articles from 1985 to the present.
Chicago Tribune Historical ProQuest
Includes full-text and full-images of the Chicago Tribune in a searchable archive back to 1849. Once connected, select the ProQuest Historical Newspapers Chicago Tribune option.
Chicago Sun-Times NewsBank
Provides searchable full-text daily Chicago Sun-Times articles from 1985 to the present.
Chicago Area News
Publications covering news in the Chicago region.
Chicago Defender NewsBank
Provides searchable full-text Chicago Defender articles from 2008 to the present. Includes a calendar with links to available issues.
Crain's Chicago Business EBSCO
Includes feature articles, business profiles, interviews, financial information, thematic issues and timely news of note for business executives and managers in metro Chicago from 1993 through the present. Once connected, click on the words "search within this publication".
Daily Herald NewsBank
Provides full-text daily and searchable archived newspapers in Illinois covering North West Cook County, DuPage, Lake, McHenry and Kane Counties and Fox Valley from January 1995 to the present.
Academic Search Complete EBSCO
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
NewsBank Illinois News
Provides full text of Illinois newspapers covering companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in their communities.
EBSCO Advanced Searching Tutorial
Length: 2:38. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.
Use citation results from Google Scholar to find full-text articles in one of the Library's databases.