Chicago Region

The Chicago Architecture Foundation presents tours, exhibitions, lectures, special events, and education activities designed to enhance the awareness and appreciation of Chicago’s architectural legacy.

The Chicago History Museum maintains a rich variety of architecture and building history resources.

Locate archival collections and digital images at Chicago area member institutions. Natural & Built Environments includes categories such as architecture, biology, city planning, parks, waterways, railways, and roads.

Hosted by the City of Chicago, this site provides search and alphabetical listing features, a virtual tour, information about notable architects, an architectural style guide, and a database of more than 17,000 Chicago historic properties.

Architecture and Design includes links to the Chicago Architects Oral History Project and a searchable database of the collection.

CMAP is the official regional planning organization for the northeastern Illinois counties of Cook, DuPage, Kane, Kendall, Lake, McHenry, and Will.

The Chicago chapter of the American Institute of Architects.

View the digital version of the center’s most recent exhibition project, which was developed in collaboration with the Burnham Plan Centennial.

A search for "architecture" leads to many relevant subtopics. Search also for skyscrapers, World's Columbian Exposition, City Beautiful Movement, Plan of Chicago (or Burnham Plan), First Chicago School, Second Chicago School, and the Prairie School.