A look back at Chicago history: Haymarket
Freedom Day Demonstration, 1963
From: Film footage of the Freedom Day Demonstration, Chicago 1963. Courtesy of Kartemquin Films.
Chicago history books from Oakton's Library
Online resources about the Chicago region's history
- American History Online This link opens in a new windowSpans more than 500 years of political, military, social, and cultural history, highlighting the important people and events of the American experience. Good coverage of Chicago material. Oakton login & password required.
- Library of CongressOnline Chicago-related material in the Library of Congress includes photographs from the Chicago Daily News, 1902-1933. Browse by topic or search all collections for Chicago topics.
- Chicago History MuseumThe Chicago History Museum collects, preserves, and displays authentic pieces of Chicago and U.S. history.
- Encyclopedia of Chicago This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of historical resources - including articles, photos, maps, broadsides and newspapers - related to Chicago's history.
- Chicago Tribune Historical ProQuest This link opens in a new windowIncludes full-text and full-images of the Chicago Tribune in searchable archive back to the first issue, from 1849 through 1987. Oakton username and password required.
- The Dramas of HaymarketThis online project examines selected materials from the Chicago Historical Society's Haymarket Affair Digital Collection.
- The Great Chicago Fire & The Web of MemoryThis online project presents both chronologically and thematically oriented accounts of the 1871 Chicago Fire.
Historical information from the Chicago Public Library
Suggested subject headings for books about Chicago history
- Chicago (Ill.)
- Chicago (Ill.) - History
- Historic buildings
Find more books at Oakton
Chicago Collections Consortium
The Chicago Collections Consortium is an organization of libraries, museums, and other institutions with archives that preserves, presents, and promotes the history and culture of the Chicago region.
- Explore Chicago CollectionsLocate archival collections and digital images at member institutions of the Chicago Collections Consortium.