What is background information?
Background information provides basic facts, history, descriptions and concepts about your topic. Use only the information that you find useful in starting your research. You can always return to your sources if you need more in-depth information as you get deeper into your research topic.
Recommended databases for backbround information
Begin your research by looking up your keywords in an online dictionary, encyclopedia or reference book.
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Britannica Academic This link opens in a new windowBasic introduction to over 75,000 different topics, including encyclopedia articles, maps, news, definitions, and statistics. Includes a dictionary/thesaurus, media (photographs & selected audio/video files), famous quotations, country profiles, selected websites, and news articles.
Background Information: Reference Books
Education by
Standardized testing, No Child Left Behind, diversity, and character education are among the topics covered in this newly updated anthology. Chapters include: What is the State of Education? Are Alternatives to Public Education Viable? What Role Should Religious and Moral Values Play in Public Education? How Could Public Education Be Improved?
ISBN: 0737722282Publication Date: 2004
Encyclopedia of Education by
This fully-revised second edition offers a complete view of the institutions, people, processes, roles and philosophies found in educational practice in the United States and throughout the world. Features include 140 biographies of influential educators; profiles of historic colleges and universities; profiles of organizations active in the field; and an appendix of full-text primary source documents including education-related legislation, international treaties and testing methods.
Call Number: REF. LB15 .E47 2003ISBN: 002865594XPublication Date: 2002
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Education by
The Routledge International Encyclopedia of Education is a comprehensive, single-volume work, arranged alphabetically and comprising around 600 entries. The entries range from definitions of key educational concepts and terms to biographies of key educators and specially written substantial essays on major educational topics. The volume includes authoritative and critical commentary on historical and contemporary themes; examinations of continuities, changes and emerging issues; and discussions of the educational traditions and features of major countries and continents.
Call Number: REF. LB15 .R633 2008ISBN: 9780415277471Publication Date: 2008
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory by
This encyclopedia is a reference and study place for students, teachers, researchers and professionals in the field of education, philosophy and social sciences, offering both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy by authoritative world scholars.
ISBN: 9812875883Publication Date: 2017
CREDO Tutorial
Length: 2:48. Hit play and then watch full screen.
Education Books of Interest
Real Education : Four Simple Truths for Bringing America's Schools Back to Reality by
With four simple truths as his framework, Charles Murray, the bestselling coauthor of The Bell Curve, sweeps away the hypocrisy, wishful thinking, and upside-down priorities that grip America's educational establishment.
ISBN: 9780307449368Publication Date: 2008
