LibGuides: Education: Find Articles on Education

Featured Article

Today's Schools Are Yesterday's Streetcars: How Technology Will Transform Education
(Oakton username/password required) Kerry McDonald is a senior education fellow at the Foundation for Economic Education. In the following viewpoint, McDonald argues that technology will continue to be a driving force of change in education. She speculates that advances in education technology during the twenty-first century will eventually eliminate traditional schooling. Characterizing traditional schooling as limiting and outdated, McDonald predicts that education will become more centered on self-directed learning with internet-connected devices. She highlights several ways in which adults use new technology for educational purposes and suggests that adults will encourage children to learn using similar tools. The author foresees a future in which technology will facilitate more meaningful and effective learning.

Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.

You also can find a complete list of online databases organized by subject on the Library's A-Z List of Databases.

Use your Oakton username and password to login from a non-campus computer.

ERIC Education Resources - EBSCO

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education journal articles, research reports, curriculum and teaching guides, conference papers, dissertations & theses, and books.
Education Professional Development - EBSCO

Provides specialized collection of information for professional educators, librarians, and education researchers on pedagogical theory and practice.
Chronicle of Higher Education

Includes college and university news, information, and announcements from September 1989 to present. Does not include access to the Daily Briefing newsletter.
Nexis Uni

Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO

Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with around 10,000 full-text periodicals - of which more than 9,000 are peer-reviewed journals.
MAS Complete - EBSCO

Designed for high school libraries, MAS Complete is a research database that contains full text for hundreds of popular magazines and e-books covering news, politics, science, sports, culture and more. It also includes thousands of full-text primary source documents and videos from the Associated Press.

For broad searches use terms like:

You can add terms to focus your search:

Or any aspect of technology or teaching you are interested in

Length: 3:27. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.