LibGuides: World Religions: Finding Articles

Recommended databases for articles

Identify articles in scholarly journals or popular magazines by looking up your search terms in one of the selected databases below.

You also can find a complete list of online databases in the Library's A-Z Database List.

You can access any of these databases on campus or by logging in with your myOakton username and password if you are off campus.

Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
Jewish Studies Source EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Full-text articles from leading academic journals and newspapers offering a multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present.
Includes Holocaust & Genocide Studies, Images: A Journal of Jewish Art & Visual Culture, Jewish Political Studies Review, and the Jewish Telegraphic Agency database from 1922 to present - as well as biographies of leading historical and contemporary Jews.
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
Each issue examines a single "hot" topic with comments from experts, lawmakers and citizens on all sides of every issue. Includes charts, graphs and sidebar articles -- plus a pro-con feature, a chronology, lengthy bibliographies and a list of contacts. Provides the options to conduct a quick search or browse popular religious topics.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Database of contemporary social issues with content structured to promote critical-thinking skills. It contains more than 400 reference book titles, more than 8,700 pro and con viewpoint articles, and a variety of periodicals, podcasts, reviewed Web links, images, statistical tables, charts, and graphs. Contains a browse by topic option, which includes information on various religious issues.

What is the difference between scholarly and popular articles?

Length: 1:44. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.

Advanced Searching on the New EBSCO User Interfaces - Tutorial

Length: 3:27. Hit play and watch full screen or on YouTube.