Searching for books in the Library's Catalog
Search over 100,000 books in the Library's Catalog and books from 127 Illinois college and university libraries in the I-Share Catalog.
Finding good search terms
Starting with a keyword search in Oakton's Library Catalog is often the best way to identify useful subject headings for your research.
For example, some of the items retrieved with a keyword search for "teenagers and psychology" will have the subject heading "adolescent psychology", the preferred subject heading for that topic.
Conducting a search with a subject heading will, in most cases, produce a more relevant list of items.
Selected books from the Library's catalog
APA Dictionary of Psychology by
This second edition of a landmark reference resource -- created not only for psychologists, clinicians, students, and professionals from allied mental health professions, but for all interested readers -- offers definitive information on the lexicon of the field, including Almost 26,000 entries offering clear and authoritative definitions -- approximately 1,000 more than the first edition Balanced coverage of 90 subareas, with significantly revised and expanded content especially in the areas of neuroscience, psychopharmacology, lifespan developmental psychology, statistics, experimental design, and many others Thousands of incisive cross-references that deepen the user's comprehension of related topics More than 400 brief biographical entries on historical figures in psychology and other related areas -- four times more than the first edition A Guide to the Dictionary and a Quick Guide to Format that explain stylistic and format features Three appendixes: Institutional and Organizational Entries; Psychological Test and Assessment Instrument Entries; Psychotherapeutic Techniques, Biological Treatments, and Related Entries
ISBN: 9781433819445Publication Date: 2015
Introduction to Psychology by
Welcome to the world of psychology--and a journey through the gateways to mind and behavior. Led by authors who get rave reviews from students and instructors alike, this text integrates a proven system for reflective learning: Survey, Question, Read, Reflect, Review and Recite. By following these steps for efficient studying, you can master Psychology's concepts and explore its diversity of topics that are relevant to today's world. Active learning tools are interspersed with examples and anecdotes in a conversational style, along with coverage of the field's newest research findings. Experience the fun of discovering Psychology with INTRODUCTION TO PSYCHOLOGY: GATEWAYS TO MIND AND BEHAVIOR, 15th Edition.
ISBN: 9781337565691Publication Date: 2018
Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders DSM-5 by
This new edition of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5®), used by clinicians and researchers to diagnose and classify mental disorders, is the product of more than 10 years of effort by hundreds of international experts in all aspects of mental health. Their dedication and hard work have yielded an authoritative volume that defines and classifies mental disorders in order to improve diagnoses, treatment, and research. The criteria are concise and explicit, intended to facilitate an objective assessment of symptom presentations in a variety of clinical settings -- inpatient, outpatient, partial hospital, consultation-liaison, clinical, private practice, and primary care. New features and enhancements make DSM-5® easier to use across all settings: * The chapter organization reflects a lifespan approach, with disorders typically diagnosed in childhood (such as neurodevelopmental disorders) at the beginning of the manual, and those more typical of older adults (such as neurocognitive disorders) placed at the end. Also included are age-related factors specific to diagnosis. * The latest findings in neuroimaging and genetics have been integrated into each disorder along with gender and cultural considerations.* The revised organizational structure recognizes symptoms that span multiple diagnostic categories, providing new clinical insight in diagnosis. * Specific criteria have been streamlined, consolidated, or clarified to be consistent with clinical practice (including the consolidation of autism disorder, Asperger's syndrome, and pervasive developmental disorder into autism spectrum disorder; the streamlined classification of bipolar and depressive disorders; the restructuring of substance use disorders for consistency and clarity; and the enhanced specificity for major and mild neurocognitive disorders).* Dimensional assessments for research and validation of clinical results have been provided.* Both ICD-9-CM and ICD-10-CM codes are included for each disorder, and the organizational structure is consistent with the new ICD-11 in development. The Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders, Fifth Edition, is the most comprehensive, current, and critical resource for clinical practice available to today's mental health clinicians and researchers of all orientations. The information contained in the manual is also valuable to other physicians and health professionals, including psychologists, counselors, nurses, and occupational and rehabilitation therapists, as well as social workers and forensic and legal specialists.
ISBN: 9780890425541Publication Date: 2013
Handbook of Multicultural Counseling by
The Handbook of Multicultural Counseling is considered a classic text and is likely the world′s most often cited scholarly work on multicultural counseling. The new third edition is completely revised and expanded, with 58 brand new chapters covering state-of-the art advances in theory, ethics, research, measurement, and clinical practice and assessment in multicultural counseling and therapy. Features: Latest developments on theory, research, and measurement of racial, ethnic, multiracial, and gay/lesbian identity development. An expanded research section covering quantitative, qualitative, and mixed methods research designs. New chapters outlining how to both design and translate psychological instruments for multicultural research. The latest ethical updates with regard to practice and research. Applied guidelines for clinical practice and assessment across the lifespan. Recent advances in multicultural career counseling across the lifespan. Updates on spirituality and multicultural counseling. Twelve new lifestories of multicultural pioneers who have helped shape the advancement of multicultural practice, research, and social advocacy. Contributing chapter authors represent nationally and internationally renowned researchers, clinicians, administrators, and social justice advocates.
Call Number: BF636.7.C76 H36 2010 (DPC)ISBN: 9781412964319Publication Date: 2009
E-Books
50 Classics Series: 50 Psychology Classics
In a journey spanning 50 books, hundreds of ideas and over a century, 50 Psychology Classics looks at some of the most intriguing questions relating to what motivates us, what makes us feel and act in certain ways, how our brains work, and how we create a sense of self.
Big Ideas Simply Explained: The Psychology Book
Clearly explaining more than 100 groundbreaking ideas in the field, The Psychology Book uses accessible text and easy-to-follow graphics and illustrations to explain the complex theoretical and experimental foundations of psychology.
ACT Made Simple by
Now fully-revised and updated, this second edition of ACT Made Simple includes new information and chapters on self-compassion, flexible perspective taking, working with trauma, and more. Why is it so hard to be happy? Why is life so difficult? Why do humans suffer so much? And what can we realistically do about it? No matter how rewarding your job, as a mental health professional, you may sometimes feel helpless in the face of these questions. You are also well aware of the challenges and frustrations that can present during therapy. If you're looking for ways to optimize your client sessions, consider joining the many thousands of therapists and life coaches worldwide who are learning acceptance and commitment therapy (ACT). With a focus on mindfulness, client values, and a commitment to change, ACT is proven-effective in treating depression, anxiety, stress, addictions, eating disorders, schizophrenia, borderline personality disorder (BPD), and myriad other psychological issues. It's also a revolutionary new way to view the human condition--packed full of exciting new tools, techniques, and strategies for promoting profound behavioral change. A practical primer, ideal for ACT newcomers and experienced ACT professionals alike, ACT Made Simple offers clear explanations of the six ACT processes and a set of real-world tips and solutions for rapidly and effectively implementing them in your practice. This book gives you everything you need to start using ACT with your clients for impressive results. Inside, you'll find: scripts, exercises, metaphors, and worksheets to use with your clients; a session-by-session guide to implementing ACT; transcripts from therapy sessions; guidance for creating your own therapeutic techniques and exercises; and practical tips to overcome "therapy roadblocks." This book aims to take the complex theory and practice of ACT and make it accessible and enjoyable for therapists and clients.
ISBN: 9781684033027Publication Date: 2019-05-01
DBT Made Simple by
Originally developed for the treatment of borderline personality disorder, dialectical behavior therapy, or DBT, has rapidly become one of the most popular and most effective treatments for all mental health conditions rooted in out-of-control emotions. However, there are limited resources for psychologists seeking to use DBT skills with individual clients. In the tradition of ACT Made Simple, DBT Made Simple provides clinicians with everything they need to know to start using DBT in the therapy room. The first part of this book briefly covers the theory and research behind DBT and explains how DBT differs from traditional cognitive behavioral therapy approaches. The second part focuses on strategies professionals can use in individual client sessions, while the third section teaches the four skills modules that form the backbone of DBT: core mindfulness, distress tolerance, emotion regulation, and interpersonal effectiveness. The book includes handouts, case examples, and example therapist-client dialogue--everything clinicians need to equip their clients with these effective and life-changing skills.
ISBN: 9781608821655Publication Date: 2013-01-02
I-Share
Oakton belongs to a consortium of Illinois colleges that share library resources. If you find a title in the catalog that is held at one of our partner schools, you can request that the item be delivered to either Oakton campus for you. Simply sign in using your MyOakton login to request items via the catalog. Librarians can guide you through this process, if needed.