Librarian
1600 E Golf Rd
Des Plaines, IL 60016
Getting Started with Company Research
This resource is designed to assist you in conducting comprehensive research on companies, including their financials, operations, and industry environment. Whether you are seeking company profiles, SWOT analyses, corporate filings, or news reports, this guide provides access to essential databases and websites to support your research needs.
- Public Traded CompaniesAn article from Investopedia that defines public traded companies.
- Private CompaniesAn article from Investopedia that defines private companies.
- SubsidiariesAn article from Investopedia that defines subsidiaries.
- Introduction to NAICSThe North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the standard used by Federal statistical agencies in classifying business establishments for the purpose of collecting, analyzing, and publishing statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.
Best bets for company profiles, SWOT analyses, & analyst reports
- Business Source Complete SWOT & Company Info EBSCO This link opens in a new windowIncludes full text business-related magazines and peer-reviewed journals covering marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics. Features a useful browse option for Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, SWOT Analyses, Company Profiles, and more.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBusiness, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.
Corporate filings with the SEC & Annual Reports
- EDGAR (U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission)EDGAR is the primary system for companies and others submitting documents to the SEC. Use EDGAR to review a public company’s operations and detailed financial information. Searchable by company name, CIK, or ticker symbol.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
- AnnualReports.comAnnualReports.com describes itself as the "most complete and up-to-date listing of annual reports on the internet." Search for company reports by ticker symbol or company name. Browse by exchange or industry.
Books about companies
- Oakton Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowO.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
News reports and articles about companies
- Business Source Ultimate EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Includes full text business-related magazines and peer-reviewed journals covering marketing, management, accounting, finance, and economics along with Country Reports, Industry Reports, Market Research Reports, SWOT Analyses, and Company Profiles.
- Crain's Chicago Business EBSCO This link opens in a new windowPresents feature articles, business profiles, interviews, financial information, thematic issues and timely news of note for business executives and managers in metro Chicago from 1993 through the present. Once connected, select "Search within this publication."
- Regional Business News via EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of regional U.S. newspapers covering companies, politics, sports, industries, cultural activities, and people in their communities.
- A-Z Databases - NewspapersIf you need more options, expand your company news search with a wider selection of Oakton Library newspaper databases.