Recent Books
Saving Animals, Saving Ourselves: Why Animals Matter for Pandemics, Climate Change, and other Catastrophes by
In 2020, COVID-19, the Australia bushfires, and other global threats served as vivid reminders that human and nonhuman fates are increasingly linked. Human use of nonhuman animals contributes to pandemics, climate change, and other global threats which, in turn, contribute to biodiversityloss, ecosystem collapse, and nonhuman suffering.Jeff Sebo argues that humans have a moral responsibility to include animals in global health and environmental policy. In particular, we should reduce our use of animals as part of our pandemic and climate change mitigation efforts and increase our support for animals as part of our adaptationefforts. Applying and extending frameworks such as One Health and the Green New Deal, Sebo calls for reducing support for factory farming, deforestation, and the wildlife trade; increasing support for humane, healthful, and sustainable alternatives; and considering human and nonhuman needsholistically. Sebo also considers connections with practical issues such as education, employment, social services, and infrastructure, as well as with theoretical issues such as well-being, moral status, political status, and population ethics. In all cases, he shows that these issues are bothimportant and complex, and that we should neither underestimate our responsibilities because of our limitations, nor underestimate our limitations because of our responsibilities.Both an urgent call to action and a survey of what ethical and effective action requires, Saving Animals, Saving Ourselves is an invaluable resource for scholars, advocates, policy-makers, and anyone interested in what kind of world we should attempt to build and how.
Call Number: ebook, click for detailsISBN: 9780190861018Publication Date: 2022
Justice for Animals by
A "brilliant" (Chicago Review of Books), "elegantly written, and compelling" (National Review) new theory and call to action on animal rights, ethics, and law from the renowned philosopher Martha C. Nussbaum. Animals are in trouble all over the world. Whether through the cruelties of the factory meat industry, poaching and game hunting, habitat destruction, or neglect of the companion animals that people purport to love, animals suffer injustice and horrors at our hands every day. The world needs an ethical awakening, a consciousness-raising movement of international proportions. In Justice for Animals, one of the world's most renowned philosophers and humanists, Martha C. Nussbaum, provides "the most important book on animal ethics written to date" (Thomas I. White, author of In Defense of Dolphins). From dolphins to crows, elephants to octopuses, Nussbaum examines the entire animal kingdom, showcasing the lives of animals with wonder, awe, and compassion to understand how we can create a world in which human beings are truly friends of animals, not exploiters or users. All animals should have a shot at flourishing in their own way. Humans have a collective duty to face and solve animal harm. An urgent call to action and a manual for change, Nussbaum's groundbreaking theory directs politics and law to help us meet our ethical responsibilities as no book has done before.
Call Number: Des Plaines, HV4708 .N87 2024ISBN: 1982102519Publication Date: 2024
Animal Liberation: The Definitive Classic of the Animal Movement by
The groundbreaking and "important" book about animal rights by the author of Ethics in the Real World--including a new preface (Chicago Tribune). First published in 1975, Animal Liberation created a sensation upon its release, shaking the world's philosophical and animal-protection circles to their cores. Now, forty years later, Peter Singer's landmark work still looms large as a foundational and canonical text of animal advocacy. Arguing that all beings capable of suffering deserve equal consideration, Singer contends that the only justifiable treatment of animals is that which maximizes good and minimizes suffering. In examining the cruelty of factory farming and the exploitation, both commercial and scientific, of laboratory animals, he identifies a kind of "ethical blindness" and calls for political action. A moral wake-up call from one of the most influential and controversial ethicists of our time, Animal Liberation tackles an emotionally charged social issue with a compelling rational argument in a rousing and riveting read. This ebook features an illustrated biography of Peter Singer, including rare photos from the author's personal collection.
Call Number: Audiobook via overdrive; click for accessISBN: 9781497645592Publication Date: 2015
Animal Welfare: Understanding Sentient Minds and Why It Matters by
Animal Welfare An Accessible Overview of the Concept of Sentience Throughout the Animal Kingdom and Why It Matters to Humans Animal Welfare explores the concept of sentience and the development of sentient minds throughout the animal kingdom. The work provides improved definitions and analysis of the ideas of sentience, cognition, and consciousness, along with evidence of advanced mental formulation in birds, fish, and invertebrates. Considerations between humans and animals are also discussed, such as outcome-based ethics in relation to humans' duties of care and the rights and wrongs of domestication. The work is divided into three parts and covers key topics such as: Specifics of animal sentience, from pain and suffering, to fear and dread, all the way to animals' social life and the comfort/joy/hope/despair they experience What we know about the sentience of different classes of animals in the waters, air, savannah/plains, and forests Considerations on human interactions based on animal sentience, including death (killing), animal farms, animals in laboratories, wild animals in captivity, and animals in sports and entertainment Analysis on what humans can learn from animals based on what we know about their varying levels of sentience Animal Welfare serves as an invaluable analysis of animal sentience for students, teachers, and professionals directly involved in the study, teaching, and applications of animal behavior, motivation, and welfare. Thanks to the wide-ranging implications of animal sentience, the work will also appeal to everyone with a broader interest in animal behavior and human/animal interactions.
Call Number: ebook, click for detailsISBN: 9781119857075Publication Date: 2022
Vegan Richa's Everyday Kitchen by Call Number: ebook via overdrive; click to access or download to e-readerISBN: 9781941252390Publication Date: 2017
- Search O.W.L. (Oakton's Whole Library) for more booksO.W.L. is Oakton's library catalog and discovery service. Use it to search for books, articles, journals, and multimedia.
Statistics
Animal rights & welfare statistics can be found in Statista (linked below). For example, these two graphs show that India had over twice the percentage of vegans (13%) as China (6%), and that the number of U.S. rifle hunting participants has fluctuated between 9.79 million and 11.27 million between 2011 and 2021.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowBusiness, marketing, demographic, and economic statistics along with content in the form of infographics, company/industry dossiers, market analytics, and forecasts.
Background Information
Contemporary World Issues: Animal Rights: A Reference Handbook by
This revised edition helps readers understand and develop their own opinions on the fundamental issues, enduring controversies, and critical developments associated with animal rights. First published in 1994, Animal Rights: A Reference Handbook was widely acclaimed for its objective look at the ways in which humans treat animals. Extensively revised and updated, this new edition explores the basis for current perspectives on animal rights by addressing the relationship between humans and animals from scientific, philosophical, legal, and religious points of view. Animal Rights: A Reference Handbook, Second Edition maintains the balance and accessibility of the first edition, letting readers decide the bounds of human responsibility toward animals. It surveys a wide range of controversies surrounding the use of animals in such fields as the food industry, medical research, and the realm of entertainment, as well as the tremendous surge in scientific discoveries and technological advances that have led to new conversations on animal rights in the 21st century. Includes a significantly updated collection of biographical sketches, with 20 entries new to this edition Offers a greatly expanded bibliography, now including a wealth of resources available online
Call Number: ebook, click for detailsISBN: 9781598841916Publication Date: 2009
- Animal Rights: an Overview from Opposing Viewpoints"The debate over animal rights questions whether nonhuman animals should be afforded similar legal and ethical considerations to humans. Proponents of animal rights oppose the use of animals for clothing, entertainment, experimentation, and food. Extreme positions on animal rights contend that nonhuman animals should be granted the legal rights of personhood."
- Credo Reference - All Subjects Search This link opens in a new windowContains dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, quotations and atlases, plus a wide range of subject-specific titles.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy organizes scholars from around the world in philosophy and related disciplines to create and maintain an up-to-date reference work.
Journal Articles
- Academic Search Complete EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides a comprehensive scholarly, multi-disciplinary full-text database, with more than 8,500 full-text periodicals - of which more than 7,300 are peer-reviewed journals.
- SocINDEX Full Text EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides more than 860 full-text titles including core sociology peer-reviewed journals.
- Social Problems -- Oxford Journals This link opens in a new windowSocial Problems presents scholarly articles offering critical perspectives on contemporary social issues as well as influential sociological findings and theories that have the ability to help us better understand and deal with our complex social environment.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social Sciences - GVRL This link opens in a new windowPresents articles and biographies contributed by scholars from around the world on a wide array of global topics in the social sciences.