Electronic Resources Specialist (Library)
Why OpenAthens?
The library uses a proxy service to authenticate users. This allows the resource to identify you as an authorized user and grants you access to Oakton’s online library resources. The library previously used EZproxy, but recently transitioned to OpenAthens for authentication. This change improves user privacy and access, and library staff workflows.
What does this mean for Oakton users?
This change means Oakton users will have a new login page which prompts them to choose a login option. It also means that some resources no longer require Oakton credit students and employees to use their library card number as a login. Please contact the library's Electronic Resources staff with any questions.
Attention Faculty: This also means that some URLs for library resources have been updated. URLs using EZproxy will no longer work in FY25. Please contact the library's Electronic Resources staff for assistance with updating URLs in D2L or instructional materials.
Current Students, Staff, and Faculty Login Instructions
Credit students and employees should choose the “Oakton College Users” option (screenshot below) and login through myOakton to access library databases.
Non-credit students and district residents, please see below for further information about your access.
District Resident and Non-Credit Student Login Instructions
District residents and noncredit students have access to select online library resources with an OpenAthens account when off campus. To receive an OpenAthens account, patrons must have an Oakton Library card. See the library's Get a Library Card/Owl ID webpage (opens in a new window) to learn how to request a library card.
Resources Available to Community Users Off Campus
- eRead Illinois This link opens in a new windowSearch the eRead Illinois collection of over 24,000 e-books. They can be accessed on your device or computer with the Boundless app.
- Libby by OverDrive - NILRC This link opens in a new windowBorrow e-books and audio-books through the NILRC Libby/OverDrive Consortium collection. To download and learn how to use the mobile app, see the Libby app site.
- Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
Note: Remote access for Transparent Language Online (TLO) is temporarily down. Users with existing accounts can use TLO on or off campus with this link. Users who don't have an account can create one on campus using the same link. (9/30/2024)
Transparent Language Online combines courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, for over 110 languages, including English for speakers of over 30 languages.
Login directions below: - LearningExpress Library for Public Libraries - Adult Core Skills This link opens in a new window
Helpful resources to improve math, reading, writing, speaking, and grammar skills. Also includes resources to prepare for the U.S. Citizenship Exam and to learn how to get a Green Card, with materials available in Spanish or English.
- LearningExpress Library for Public Libraries - High School Equivalency Center This link opens in a new window
Provides practice tests, tutorials, eBooks, & flashcards to help you earn your high school equivalency credential. Check the information provided here to see what test is required in this state.
- LearningExpress PrepStep for Colleges This link opens in a new window
Practice tests and computer basics. LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges: Core Math, Science, English, Computer, and College Success Skills; High School Equivalency, Placement, and ACT-SAT; Test Preparation; Career Preparation; Recursos Para Hispanohablantes.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - AWS Technology Training This link opens in a new window
Features 150+ courses from Amazon Web Services covering multiple topics in the technology field. Topics include Artificial Intelligence Services and Generative AI; AWS Cloud Essentials; Developer Tools; Database Operations; Internet of Things; Networking and Connectivity; Game Technology; Streaming Media Services; Database Concepts and Migrations; Cost Management; Certification Preparation; Data Processing and Machine Learning; Security, Identity and Compliance, and more.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Basic Computer Skills This link opens in a new windowInteractive video tutorials to learn how to get started with computer and internet skills. Includes Microsoft Office Basics.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Career Preparation This link opens in a new window
Prepare for a career exam, explore occupations, and improve your workplace skills. Includes exam preparation resources for Allied Health, Social Work, Civil Service, Emergency Medical Services, Firefighting, Law Enforcement, Nursing, TOEIC®, Teaching, and WorkKeys®.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - College Success Skills This link opens in a new window
Tools for navigating campus, your courses, and life.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Computer and Internet Basics Center This link opens in a new window
Video courses to learn popular software and computer basics. Includes keyboarding/typing skills, understanding desktop applications, hardware connections, setting up and using printers, websites and search engines, using email and social media, and internet safety.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Core English Skills This link opens in a new window
Strengthen your reading, writing, grammar, spelling, vocabulary skills.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Core Math and Science Skills This link opens in a new window
Build your skills in these essential subject areas: Developmental Math, Algebra, Geometry, Introductory Statistics & Probability, Pre-Calculus & Calculus, and Science.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Job & Career Accelerator This link opens in a new windowPowerful tools and guidance to explore career options and achieve your career goals. Search for jobs, internships, schools, and scholarships, and prepare for the interview process.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Placement Test Preparation This link opens in a new window
Resources to prep for the ACCUPLACER, ASSET, CLEP, DSST, TOEFL iBT, IELTS, and State Placement Tests.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Recursos Para Hispanohablantes This link opens in a new window
En Español. Mejore sus habilidades escritas, orales y gramaticales; sea mejor lector; desarrolle sus habilidades matemáticas; prepárese para el examen de GED®; y sea ciudadano estadounidense. (Improve your written, oral and grammar skills; become a better reader; develop your math skills; prepare for the GED® test; and become a US citizen.)
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for High School Libraries - English Language Arts This link opens in a new windowResources to help you become a better reader and a stronger writer. These resources are based on a high school curriculum. For college level skills, see LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Core English Skills.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for High School Libraries - Math and Science Skills This link opens in a new windowPractice and review in essential topics: Algebra, Functions, Geometry, Number and Quantity, Quantitative Comparison for Tests, Statistics and Probability, Science, and Technology. These resources are based on a high school curriculum. For college level skills, see LearningExpress PrepSTEP for Colleges - Core Math and Science Skills.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for High School Libraries - Prepare for College (includes ACT® and SAT® Test Preparation) This link opens in a new window
Resources to help you reach your target scores on these important exams. Includes finder tools for schools and scholarships.
- LearningExpress PrepSTEP for High School Libraries - Social Studies Skills This link opens in a new windowThis resource was created for high school students to boost their understanding of core topics in U.S. and World History, and Civics and Government. Includes AP practice exams.
Login Instructions
Once you have a library card, you should soon after receive an activation email for your OpenAthens account. Use the directions and link in the email to activate your account and set a password. Retain this email for your records because it contains your username.
To login to the resources listed above, choose “Oakton Community Users” (screenshot below) and login with the OpenAthens username provided in your activation email, and the password you set. Please note, this is separate from your Oakton catalog login.
If you need to reset your password, click the “Problems signing in?” hyperlink on the login page (screenshot below). You will need to provide your email address or username to reset it. If you need further assistance, please contact the library’s Electronic Resources staff.
Please note: all district residents and non-credit students have full access to all library resources when on campus.