What does it mean for Chicago to be a sanctuary city?
- WBEZ podcast episode exploring the meaning of the term "sanctuary city"
The term has become conflated with policies that provide public benefits and resources, according to DePaul University’s Kathleen Arnold.
By Esther Yoon-Ji Kang
Are journalists getting the immigration story right?
- Are journalists getting the immigration story right?
In this episode of the podcast, "Is That a Fact?" the host and interviewees critically examine how journalists have covered the topic of immigration in the United States from a historical perspective, and how the language used to talk about the issues shapes our ideas and perceptions of the issues.
Welcome
Welcome to the Oakton Library topic guide for Immigration in the United States. Here you will find up to date sources available through the library and on the web that help frame this complex issue and provide a starting place for your research. Please contact a librarian for any research needs, we are here to help you!
Immigration Sources - News and Article Databases
The Oakton Library subscribes to local and national news sources where you can search for current information on immigration topics.
- Ethnic Diversity Source This link opens in a new windowFull-text database that covers the culture, traditions, social treatment and lived experiences of many ethnic populations in North America
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Provides access to full-text news, business, and legal publications using a variety of flexible search options. Access over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
NewsBank provides a comprehensive collection of reliable news sources covering a wide array of topics and issues.
- Newspaper Source Plus EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Provides full text for over 1,000 national and international newspapers - including Star Tribune, USA Today, The Washington Post, The Times (U.K.), Toronto Star, Bangkok Post, The Jordan Times, and many more - in a searchable archive.
- Chicago Sun-Times NewsBank This link opens in a new windowProvides searchable full-text daily Chicago Sun-Times articles from 1985 to the present.
- Hispanic Life in AmericaHLA covers many topical categories such as arts and entertainment, civil rights and
activism, immigration and citizenship, sports and athletes, labor, religion, science
and technology, and society and culture. The database contains varied perspectives
on multiple subjects.
- Hispanic Life in America - How to get startedThis document helps you get started with searching for relevant topics, and lists the content, peoples, and organizations covered. View the topics listed in the document to get started.
Selected books
Selected Reference Books
- Supreme Court Yearbook: Topic - Immigration
Available online. Summarizes of cases brought to the Supreme Court related to immigration law. - Washington Information Directory - Chapter: Immigration & Naturalization
"The Washington Information Directory (WID) is a topically organized reference resource that lists contact information for federal agencies and nongovernmental organizations in the Washington metro area along with a brief paragraph describing what each organization does related to that topic."