Featured Resources
"Jewish Languages." The New Encyclopedia of Judaism, edited by Geoffrey Wigoder, et al., New York University Press, 2nd edition, 2002. Credo Reference.
Yiddish : Biography of a Language by Call Number: ebook; click to accessISBN: 9780190651985Publication Date: 2020
Hebrew Verb Tales by Call Number: SKOCCREF. PJ4645 .T37 1998ISBN: 9653760106Publication Date: 1991-04-01This book will provide the Hebrew student with every possible verb combination making verb translation much easier.
Jewish Languages
- Transparent Language Online This link opens in a new window
Note: Remote access for Transparent Language Online (TLO) is temporarily down. Users with existing accounts can use TLO on or off campus with this link. Users who don't have an account can create one on campus using the same link. (9/30/2024)
Transparent Language Online combines courses, supplemental vocabulary, extensive grammar resources, and mobile apps, for over 110 languages, including English for speakers of over 30 languages.
Login directions below:
- Hebrew Studies Journal
Hebrew Studies is a scholarly journal devoted to Hebrew language, linguistics, literature and culture of all periods. - Berman Jewish Policy Archive Reader's Guide: Jewish LanguagesA selection of BJPA holdings on the topics of Hebrew, Yiddish, and the larger questions of Jewish language and Jewish life.
- JewishLanguages.OrgTo promote research on, awareness about, and engagement surrounding the many languages spoken and written by Jews throughout history and around the world.
- MorfixModern Hebrew-English dictionary and morphological-syntactic Hebrew search engine.
- Non-Binary Hebrew ProjectWe are building a bigger tent for nonbinary Jews through a third-gender grammar systematics for Hebrew, guided by our Torah and Talmud that teach us to rejoice that which cannot be neatly categorized.
- Survey of American Jewish Language and IdentityA large-scale survey of Jews and non-Jews in the United States done by Linguist Sarah Bunin Benor and Sociologist Steven M. Cohen.
Hebrew Resources
- Hebrew-English Dictionaries at the Oakton LibraryCheck out a dictionary from the library.
- Institute for the Translation of Hebrew LiteratureThe website includes:
• A general directory with 500 Hebrew authors, both classic and contemporary
• Synopses of titles represented by IIHL
• Information on recent IIHL publications - Learn Hebrew Phrases with AudioThere are 43 topics with 1,215 Hebrew phrases and sentences. The site also includes 157 printable study sheets.
- MorFixMorfix is a free online Hebrew-English and English-Hebrew dictionary.
- My Hebrew DictionaryThis dictionary is a sample of useful words in Hebrew and English. Many of the words have audio pronunciations by an Israeli and/or transliterations (written phoentically with English letters).
- Virtual Hebrew KeyboardThis Hebrew Keyboard enables you to easily type Hebrew online without installing Hebrew keyboard. You can use your computer keyboard or mouse to type Hebrew letters with this online keyboard.
Yiddish Resources
- In geveb: A Journal of Yiddish Stuides
A free, open-access journal, In geveb aims to be a central address for the study of all things Yiddish—the focal point for discussions of Yiddish literature, language, and culture, and the home for the next generation of Yiddish scholarship. - Yiddish Books OnlineFull text of 11,000 out-of-print Yiddish titles. The National Yiddish Book Center.
- Yiddish LiteratureA selection of Yiddish literary texts with short biographies. National Digital Library of Poland.
- Yiddish Prints800 Yiddish books from the Frankfurt University Library.
- Virtual Yiddish KeyboardUse this online keyboard to type in Yiddish.
Other Jewish Language Resources
- Haquetía: Judeo-Spanish vernacular of Northern MoroccoThis website is dedicated to research, revival, and introduction of the Judeo-Spanish vernacular of Northern Morocco, and the history and culture of the Moroccan Jewry.
- Ladino Digital Library: Stanford UniversityPDFs of digitized texts on a variety of topics in Ladino (Judeo-Spanish).
- LadinoTypeA free transliteration engine that converts Ladino (Judeo-Spanish or Djudezmo) text written in the Latin alphabet into accurately rendered Hebraic scripts, including Solitero and Rashi.